We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with very friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with very friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

The hotel was very nice. We had some problems on 2 occassions with the air conditioner in the room. (it wouldn't cool the room and it got to 81 degrees in the room). At checkout we were discounted the up grade fee for the inconvienence. The free continental breakfast was very nice.
All in all, it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boomboom051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    437
    175
    80
    54
See reviews for
252
846
73
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We spent one night at the Madison Hotel. The hotel has that swanky/jazzy look and feel to it. Parking was horrible so we sprung for the $25/night valet. Valet service was quick. Our check in process took over 30 minutes since it was one person checking in people and answering the phones.

The room was clean, semi-luxurious feel to it but very small. I have had hotel rooms in NYC bigger than this one. The televisions were not flat screen and they did not have many cable channels. The thermostat was turned down to 65 but kept popping back up to 75, since we were staying only for one night we didn't bother to call them to come and fix it. Nightly turn down service was a pleasant surprise, they even filled our ice bucket.

Both the pool and the work out room is in the basement. The pool was a small "lap pool." The workout room had your basic equipment.

The hotel does offer a free continental breakfast. It is served in the small hotel restaurant and it is sit down service. Fresh fruit, bear claws, croissants, coffee and juice were avaiable. The breakfast was "free" however you still would need to tip the server. The restaurant is more of an upscale restaurant.

I paid approx $150/night through priceline.com. Overall, a good, safe location in downtown Memphis but I would not pay the full rate of $299/night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaDonnainDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamadali, Owner at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Thank you for your candid comments and I am sorry that you were not pleased with the size of the room. Should your plans bring you to Memphis again, we hope that you chose the Madison once more and make your reservations either through our website at madisonhotelmemphis.com or by calling the Hotel directly as there are three other room and suite types that can be purchased. We look forward to the pleasure of having you back.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Stayed one night on our way cross country and it was a beautiful hotel. The rooms were terrific and they couldn't have been nicer to our dog.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sas6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamadali, Owner at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
We appreciate your brief and kind words about your visit and stay at The Madison. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay and that our pet friendly environment and staff were recognized for their hospitality. We look forward to having you back on your future visits to Memphis.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

The Madison is a new-fangled feeling old fashioned hotel. The service is nice, the lobby and rooms are lovely. The rooftop bar was not open while we were there, but it was a perfect spot to watch the sunset over the Mississippi. But, wow, HOT! Stay away in August if you can.
I couldn't.
I have to say that nothing specifically stood out, except that I had to call for more soap, shampoo and toilet paper.
Nothing really stood out, that is, except for Will behind the bar. He was a huge help in recommending everything from beer to restaurants. He was an unassuming pleasure to talk with. My colleagues and I felt truly cared for by this fine gentleman.
The Madison should do everything it can to hold on to Will. A true find!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderlustJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamadali, Owner at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time and acknowledging one of our many shining stars, Will at the Grill 83 bar. We are proud of the service orientation of our staff and it is rewarding to hear that their efforts do not go un-noticed. Your comments will be shared with Will as I am sure that he will enjoy it and it will further enhance his commitment to guest service.

We are terribly sorry that you did not have a perfect stay as nothing else stood out in your mind as outstanding. We look forward to your future visits so that the rest of the operation can leave the same excellent impression that Will did.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed here for a much needed get away with my husband. Perfect in every way! Lots of little surprise extra touches by all staff members really make this place a stand out. The room was fabulous (updated televisions would be nice, however) and our view was incredible. Enjoyed the fancy complimentary continental breakfast served in the hotel restaurant. The steaks there are unbelievable for dinner! We had fun "walking in Memphis" from this convenient location. Visited several outstanding restaurants, bars, and tourist spots. The Saturday farmer's market downtown is not to be missed. The bellman can give you exact walking directions and trolly info. Walked the riverfront, then came in to the gym and grabbed chilled towels to cool off. Wonderful work out facility and lap pool. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamdjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamadali, Owner at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Thank you for your comments about the Madison facilities and friendly and professional services provided by our staff. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and visit to Memphis and that we met and exceeded your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to our wonderful city and to The Madison.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

I arrived for my stay around 2 a.m. after a long drive. The front door to the hotel was locked and no on was around. I knocked on the door repeatedly and no one came. After about 10 minutes of trying to find someone I had to call the hotel. The finally sent someone to open the door. I was checked in and shown to my room. The next morning I asked for a late check out and was informed that I would be charged half of their daily rate. The manager was nice enought but she and the staff seemed to be inept in getting things back on track. I checked out and left......................will never return there again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwbyfiremn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamadali, Owner at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
I am so sorry for your disappointing experience. There was absolutely no excuse for you not being able to enter the Hotel at 2:00 AM as we are to have a doorman present at the door 24/7. Rest assured that this will be looked into and resolved so that it does not happen again.

Normally we accommodate late departures unless our occupancy on your departure date was high and the room was needed for the arriving guests. Please accept my apologies if our staff did not explain the reason for denying the request.

I hope that you do not hold this aberration in our standards against us and that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

We love this hotel. Everyone is friendly. Rooms are clean. Close to everything. Great bar. Nice breakfast. Good price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamadali, Owner at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2010
We love the fact that you love our Hotel. Thank you for your gracious comments about our facilities and services and we look forward to your continued visits with us when you return to Memphis for Rhodes College visits.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#6 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing