We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madison Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
$151
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$246
$211
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$131
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$307
$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$119
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,175)
Filter reviews
2,175 results
Traveler rating
1,171
556
252
118
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,171
556
252
118
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barjunior suitemississippi riverbeale streetboutique hotelfire pitmini barvalet parkingturn down servicelarge bathroomvalet servicebeautiful hoteldowntown memphisfew blocksmud islandsouthern hospitalitycivil rights museum
Filter
Updating list...
1,989 - 1,994 of 2,175 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2010

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The hotel is pristine. The ambiance is intimate and elegant. The rooms are elegantly appointed. The location is a little bit off the beaten path, but the hotel more than makes up for it with service and style.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamadali, Owner at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2010

Thank you very much for your gracious remarks and feedback. We are delighted to have had the opportunity to serve you and are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again on your future stays.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff, especially the front desk clerks, were really nice, and really nice to our 13 and 11 year old kids. The complimentary breakfast wasn't the best I ever had, but it was definitely good, and added to the value of the hotel. The breakfast is either buffet or starts with a fruit place. That's nice if you are traveling with kids. The location is very good--a few blocks from Beal Street, right near the trolley tracks (and even right by a Walgreens--which sounds a little too practical, but was nice to have nearby). The rooms were nice, the view from the roof top is spectacular. The valets knew their directions well, and were helpful. Overall, the really liked it, and we thought Memphis was a really nice place to visit. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momdadkidsTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamadali, Owner at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2010

Thank you for your feedback and w are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time in Memphis and The Madison Hotel. Your gracious comments will be shared with our staff as it will enhance their commitment to excellence in service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Memphis.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The hotel experience was seriously disappointing. We choose the hotel for its high level of service and didn't get any. We were charged numerous extra fees, put in a room where someone was already staying, and didn't have our room cleaned on multiple days. We came back to our hotel room at 6 pm after being gone all day and the room had not been serviced. We called and received one room cleaning though the literature touts two visits daily. The same exact thing happened the next day. We had to complain in order to get our room cleaned just once! Then they left a note apologizing and a plate of cheese and crackers which was left sitting in our room for hours. By the time we returned it was smelly and foul. Cheese and crackers do not make up for not receiving the basic services we paid for. We were given no other compensation or help even though we very politely (too politely apparently) mentioned the issues multiple times during our stay. We asked twice for a manager and were only able to speak to the supervisor on duty. The response on both occasions was that it would be brought to someone's attention. This was a beautiful hotel that I was looking forward to enjoying but instead I had to go through a huge headache of complaints to simply get my room cleaned once per day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cait38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamadali, Owner at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are also disappointed that despite of our revenue manager's attempts to reach you and offer solutions as service recovery her calls were not returned and you decided to post such negative comments about a luxury hotel that in general gets rave reviews from its very sophisticated and world traveler guests.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This is the hotel you want in Memphis if you're interested in convenience, quiet and comfortable rooms, a very friendly staff, a very good restaurant and all at a competitive price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamadali, Owner at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

Thank you very much for your feedback and compliments. It is great to hear that our ambience and the service levels provided a comfortable and restful stay for you. We hope to have the pleasure of being your host hotel on your future visits to Memphis again.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I spent the 4th of July at the Madison Hotel. The professional service from the bellman to the frontdesk staff was great. Nicole at the front desk was very professional and accomodating. I had the room I requested with a great view of the River and the Bridge that leads from Memphis to Ark. Also the grill provided a great 4th of July celebration on the rooftop with a live band. The hotel is in walking distance from the Peabody and Beale street and if you are not up to walking you can always catch the trolley right outside the hotel. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel and plan to stay again in the new future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelqueen5357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamadali, Owner at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2010

On behalf of all our staff, thank you for your gracious remarks. It is always gratifying to hear that the professionalism and service orientation of our staff is recognized and acknowledged by our guests. We are delighted that you, like many Memphians, got away for the holiday to experience luxury, comfort, food and music during Independence Day.

Our staff is looking forward to your future visits. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your future visits any more enjoyable.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews