We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“splendid”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #13 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here on business before relocating to Memphis. its a beautiful hotel outside and inside. walking distance from the river. It was a nice stay and it was a very nice experience. the rooms are spacious, quiet and very comfortable. the staff is great and the restaurant is very nice for hosting business clients.

I did not try the roof top bar. it was closed that night.

Room Tip: it takes time to get your vehicle from Valet parking so call ahead and give them 15 minutes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for staying with us during your transition to Memphis. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,419 - 1,425 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

We live in Arlington, Tn. and decided to stay downtown because we have never done that before and it was worth it. We celebrated our 27th anniversary at the Madison and it was great and we were upgraded to a King Deluxe

Room Tip: If they give you a coupon for breakfast it does not include room service. We found that out but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yourmama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for selecting us to celebrate your 27th anniversary. We appreciate your compliments and look forward to celebrating with you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Wow! Cannot find the words to describe this hotel. Fantastic location. Walking distance from Beale Street. The most stunning sunset view from the rooftop bar. Totally amazing. We were blown away. If you are just visiting Memphis you must check it out. Interiors beautiful. Staff could not have been any more helpful. Made a fantastic holiday just that bit more special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our property, it was our pleasure serving you while you were in Memphis. We couldn't agree more with your assessment of our location, our guests find that we are conveniently located in the downtown area and have the best view of the Mississippi River from our rooftop lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Overall the Madison was a wonderful place to spend our long weekend in Memphis. The location is perfect...away from all the noise on Beale but perfect walking distance to almost everything. The room was more than spacious for my husband and I and the bed was comfy. Staff at the front desk were warm and welcoming, as were just about everyone else we encountered during our stay.

The few minuses were these:

1) we arrived at 4:30 on a Friday and there was no one at the door. There was no signage in the lobby for the front desk either so it was a little confusing about where to go.

2) The room was clean but some basic toiletries were missing (shampoo, another soap bar) and when we used them after the first day, nothing was replaced.

3) This is probably the biggest flaw we noted at the hotel...the bar at the rooftop was gorgeous and such a nice perk to have however...the staff was not experienced enough to handle the number of people there and many of the tables were crowded with remnants of empty drinks, etc that other guests left behind. For a hotel of this caliber, I thought they could do a lot better.

We never ate at the restaurant but it looked good and was crowded every time.

We would stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor in a corner room which was really nice because we weren't close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samasala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate your feedback and will follow up with our team members regarding your compliments and issues. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel was very nice and clean. The service was fantastic, any problem got fixed right away. The location is great, in walking distance to everything downtown. The rooftop bar was just opening, so they didn't have any drinks we wanted but was very nice and had a great view of the river. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrianna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a hotel just a bit difficult to review, given our experience. Let me put into context. We arrived to a room that was very attractive, but somewhat small--the only chair being the desk chair. And the air conditioner was simply not working. The lower we set the thermostat the higher the temperature. Finally, at 79 degrees we figured it was time to get help. In the meantime, we wanted ice for drinks and had to order some up (tip time). We also had to ask for extra hangers for a two-day stay (there were only two in the room!. The desk sent up the hotel engineer, who, after four trips back and forth to get tools, freon and ladder, finally arranged for us to move to another room--which, since we had by this time unpacked, hung clothes and poured our drinks, was just a bit annoying--well, more than a bit. Then we saw the room we had to move to, which was just steps from ours, making moving not as unpleasant as had expected it to be. This room was actually a suite--bedroom and sitting room with couch, armchair, desk and desk chair, plus counter with two stools, as well as sink, refrigerator and another counter. Which we got for the same price as the one we had left. And, on top of that, they comped us the cost of breakfast in their restaurant the next morning (not cheap either). So, all in all, the stay was made really wonderful for us by the front desk staff's attitude.

Now let me tell you why I didn't give the hotel five circles. The problem with the air conditioning, the lack of hangers, the fact that ice should have been in the room by the time we requested it (it is supposed to come around 5 PM with turn-down), the fact that we didn't get it until we asked for it again the next day, and the fact that the person cleaning the room failed to deliver a shower mat until we asked for it, which we considered a safety issue, since substituting a towel is not safe. Finally, an observation about the arrangement of the bathroom: There were separate shower and bathtub, but if one wanted a bath and also to wash one's hair, it required the use of both, since there was no handheld shower head at the bathtub.

The hotel is a fair distance from Beale Street, but just steps from a trolley line, which costs but a dollar to get anywhere in the downtown area., and walking is not all that difficult either.

Room Tip: Do opt for the bigger room. You'll be much happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RevL05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate you selecting the Madison Hotel and your feedback is very important. I am glad to hear that our Front Desk team was able to assist you with correcting the service breakdowns you experienced on your first night with us. Because of the Historic nature of our building we do not have ice machines for the guest but we deliver ice to our guests with no tip required.

Our Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper are aware of your concerns regarding the air condition, hangers, bathroom amenities, towels and turndown service and they will address this with the team. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay and look forward to you having an even better experience on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

A quiet and small hotel with sophisticated Art Deco style; and a very accommodating and friendly staff. Close enough walk to Beale Street or you can catch the trolley at the end of the block. Be sure to have breakfast at the Blue Plate Cafe around the corner. Everyone one from the helpful catering manager to the welcoming general manager know the meaning of Southern hospitality. Nice bar for a drink before dinner, great views from the rooftop although it was too chilly during our visit to even sit down. Very nice rooms and amenities, very comfortable beds. Complete with turn down service each evening. Be sure to check out the lap pool and the exercise room which was originally the vault in this renovated bank building.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the river for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your review and acknowledgement of our management team and staff. We sincerely appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 139 in Memphis
3,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 139 in Memphis
983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.7 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#4 of 139 in Memphis
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#9 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $160 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing