We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Memphis”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in Memphis”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for one night during the NCAA tournament. What a great hotel! Location was perfect- a few blocks from Beale St and the rooftop bar had an amazing view of the river. The bar in the hotel was great, the staff was friendly, and the room was fantastic. Clean, comfy, and very spacious. Would definitely stay here if we come back to Memphis!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borkjenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during the NCAA Tournament. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    465
    187
    84
    57
See reviews for
263
888
76
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend for a friend's wedding. The room was clean and reasonably spacious. I particularly liked the wooden flooring in the room, since hotel carpets can be kind of nasty. We had a great view over the river. Overall I thought it was a little on the pricey side, but had a good stay and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and wonderful comments! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the NCAA basketball tournament and were greeted by friendly staff and a stylish rock n' roll decor in the common areas. We had a junior suite, which was comfortable and large, with cool modern furniture. Great bar and restaurant (we had a delicious breakfast there). It's just a 10-15 min walk to Beale Street and FedEx Forum. (You can also take a $1 trolley ride down Main Street to shorten it a little.) no ATM in the lobby, which was inconvenient. But overall, a fun, unique place to stay in Blues City!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during the NCAA Tournament. We appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Paid $289 for one night and it's a closet! I've seen bigger prison cells! They advertise the art in the rooms as an extension of the music culture of Memphis. I have a small fake print in the bathroom! Nothing else!! I complained to management and he gave me a $10 voucher at the restaurant. Big whoop!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Karenr2792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angiehmemphis, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
I am so sorry that you were disappointed in the size of your room and in the price that you paid. We were originally a 1920's bank building and when we converted to a hotel - the footprint required many different room types. We have large corner suites to cozy banker guestrooms and everything in between. We price the rooms accordingly. The downtown Market was very busy during your stay and we were sold out of other room options. When we do have availability, we do our best to provide upgrades upon request. I am sorry that we weren't able to offer you that choice. Thank you for your comments,
Angie Hines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Spent three nights with my 13 year old grandson. Excellent staff: friendly, helpful with the smallest details. Steven made us feel like treasured family each morning when we came downstairs for breakfast: which was hot, tasty, and generous. Nichole was especially helpful when we checked in, after arriving by train early Saturday morning. Each employee worked diligently to make us feel welcome and appreciated. Our room although small was very clean, nicely appointed and had a great view of the city. A lovely well maintained pool at day's end. Hotel is right on the City Trolley and we use public transportation as we explored the city. Highly recommend this hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PastorDenny2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for the recommendation! We are extremely proud of our staff will certainly pass on your compliments of Steven and Nicole. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We recently were in Memphis for a basketball tournament. I selected the Madison based on reviews on this site. It was an incredible value. We had a lovely suite with beautiful views of the Mississippi and Mud Island for under $300 a night. The hotel is decorated in a Memphis music theme. It has very striking elevator decorations which are lined with album covers which have some connection to the Memphis music scene. The suite was reasonably spacious and the bathroom and shower were nice. The hotel is within walking distance of Beale street and many bars and restaurants and right on the streetcar line. The breakfast offerings were very nice and modestly priced. The view from the 17th floor bar area is spectacular and my friend, a Memphis resident, said it is the most striking view in Memphis. One can't miss Memphis recommendation is a visit to the newly renovated National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorain Motel. It is very moving and extremely well done. The last exhibit is a view of Room 306 where Dr Martin Luther King spent his last night before he was killed.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for selecting the Madison Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We definitely have a great location and are always glad when our guests take advantage of this to enjoy the city as much as possible. The National Civil Rights Museum has done an awesome job with modernizing the exhibit while remaining true to the sentiments of the Civil Rights Movement. In our efforts to support the museum we have created a package that includes tickets. Thank you for highlighting this wonderful treasure in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford,MS
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Wife and I came to Madison for NYE Event; ended up staying. Hotel is just wonderful. Love the historic feel but modern flare. Staff is attentive and easy to deal with; absolutely enjoyed everything about it. The Madison has become our special little get away - close to home. Stayed in a very posh high end suite with an incredible view. Yes - quite expensive but totally worth it. If you can afford The Madison - just do it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebelforaCause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us for your New Year’s Eve celebration. We look forward to seeing you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.1 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing