We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's Day”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I booked the Madison on a busy holiday Valentine's Day. We arrived and everything was nice. The staff treated us with great hospitality. We used the valet and it was superior. We were greeted by name. Even when I had to call the front desk they greeted me by name.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you spending your special evening with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,385 - 1,391 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Madison hotel was pretty awesome! The best part of my stay had to have been the staff, especially the man at the front desk, Odell, who made sure we got what we asked for in a very nice and timely manner. I highly recommend this hotel if you ever visit memphis.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jccastro87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for the recommendation. We are extremely proud of our staff will certainly pass on your compliments to Odell. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Madison while in town on for a graduate school class. Even though the hotel was filled with patrons for the the Farm and Gin Show the valet parking was prompt and check-in was fairly quick. We had a nice corner room on the sixth floor. It's a boutique style hotel with updated, modern furnishings as well as a well-stocked honor bar. My only complaint is that the vents in the room and the exhaust fan in the bathroom were so dusty that dust bunnies were falling out of them. However--the staff and location far outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We are so glad to see you enjoyed the hotel and location. It is especially great to see how much you enjoyed our staff. I would like to apologize for the dust in your room and will follow up with our housekeeping team. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

There is nothing quite like walking up to a reception desk and finding a lovely drink and something sweet when you check in. The beds are unbelievably comfortable, and the amenities in the room are first class. The staff is very gracious, and they really make you feel welcome.

I had a bit of trouble with regulating my shower temperature, but otherwise my stay was perfect. I love the turn down service and finding a piece of chocolate on my pillow. The exercise facility is in an old bank vault and really quite funky. It has towels, and even a bowl of fresh fruit. While I would love it if they had the upper level Precor elliptical, the Precor equipment they have is first rate.

All around, a great place to stay in Memphis, and I try to stay here every time I come to town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fromRoseville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for continuing to stay with us. We are so glad to see you once again enjoyed the hotel's staff, location and amenities. We also appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Nice small Boutique Hotel recently updated décor, however they didn’t put in new double paned windows and when it gets cold outside, the hotel rooms are freezing cold and the old noisy heater with a loud fan motor can’t keep up with the incoming cold air. I had to get out the hair dryer to provide the extra heat needed. Avoid until new windows are installed and new quiet heaters.

Room Tip: Bring your own electric heater
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanZ503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angiehmemphis, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to make me aware of the Window situation in your guestroom. We will investigate both the heating situation and your window draft concerns. I apologize that your stay wasn't perfect and assure you that we will address these issues.
Sincerely,
Angie Hines
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Came for a weekend get away. Hotel was lovely and very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Had a corner room which was a bit small but comfortable. The mattress was perfect. Purchased the room on Hotwire and got a fantastic rate.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caezette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate the feedback. We are very proud of our staff here and will certainly pass on your compliments. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very centrally located and has a great lap pool in the basement. Staff are very friendly and the hotel is a lovely old building that is apparently undergoing some renovations (I was told that by the housekeeping manager) but it does not interfere with the comfort level and I didn't know any renovations were taking place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for recognizing our staff and letting other guests know of our great location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Madison Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 138 in Memphis
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napoleon, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $140 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing