We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madison Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,164)
Filter reviews
2,164 results
Traveler rating
1,171
552
248
115
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,171
552
248
115
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barjunior suitemississippi riverbeale streetboutique hotelfire pitmini barvalet parkingturn down servicelarge bathroomvalet servicebeautiful hoteldowntown memphisfew blocksmud islandsouthern hospitalitycivil rights museum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,492 - 1,497 of 2,164 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Loved the hotel - we were warmly welcomed from the curb to the fabulous rooftop terrace bar. Great room, one of the best showers ever! And extremely quick response to requests - extra towels and blankets, more coffee pods for the Keurig coffee maker - everything we asked for and more! Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank GingerKUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Madison in Memphis is a pearl in the midst of the barren desert of hotel chains. Don't know if they are part of a bigger group, but at least it didn't feel like it when I was there.

The hotel's interior design is awesome and tasteful, with a great friendly bar / restaurant on the ground floor and a rooftop bar / restaurant for a classy evening.

Walking distance from the Blues bars in town and far less expensive than the big chains without taste.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are operated by independent ownership and thrive on the pure definition of boutique hotel. Thank you for selecting the Madison Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great hotel near downtown Memphis. We were there for four days over Thanksgiving visiting our children who reside one door to the west of the hotel (how's that for convenience?). Odell and his front staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. He even braved one of our Greek ginger snap cookies we gave him. The doorman were friendly and always there. They helped us navigate downtown Memphis. Housekeeping was great and fast, always bringing us towels and extra coffee for the Keurig. Rooms are luxurious but a little small. My only gripe, if one, would be to place two queen-sized beds rather than two doubles. Beale Street, great food and music, the civil rights museum, and the Fed-Ex Forum (go Grizzlies!) are close-by. Besides location and accommodation, one of the jewels of the hotel is the restaurant, Eighty3. What a gem. Don't leave without trying the Mac n' Cheese waffles and chicken, the cheddar grits or the deep-fried Oreo cookies. To die for! We will miss how nice and helpful the people at this hotel/restaurant were. We hope to visit our kids again and THIS is where we'll stay. Thank you Madison for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thewanderingewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for providing your feedback. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and will be sure Odell and the front door gentlemen know of your kind remarks. I am glad that you enjoyed our location, accommodations, and the restaurant eighty3 and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed 3 days in November and was very impressed. Gerald on the desk welcomed us and his customer service skills were excellent...in fact all were very good. Rooms were big, beds were comfortable, bathrooms clean and plenty of room. would certainly return and stay again

Room Tip: Overlooked the main street which we thought was great.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bordercrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for your review, Gerald is one of our newest associates and we are lucky to have him a part of our team. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a really lovely hotel, an excellent location, a short walk from all the attractions. The hotel is well decorated and the staff are really helpful and friendly. The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and offer all mod cons. What really makes the hotel though is the roof top bar and some excellent cocktails to try as the sun sets over the Mississippi River. Highly recommend this hotel if you just have a couple of days to spend in the city. If you want to explore more than just Downtown ask for reception to call George - Yellow Cab who was absolutely amazing on giving us a guided tour of his city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemski23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews