We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive hotel”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had 3 terrific nights at the Madison. The decor is modern, fun and funky. The service was so good. Everyone was welcoming anxious to assistant. Our room was so comfortable. The location is perfect. We could walk to the sights and restaurants in the downtown area. If I return to Memphis, I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank careeradvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,980)
There are newer reviews for Madison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,326 - 1,332 of 1,980 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

The staff was super knowledgeable and friendly. Room very well appointed and super clean. They did a great of restoring an older builder and making into a really beautiful hotel. The furniture in the room was very tasteful and the bed super comfy. My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and they had a box of chocolates for us upon arrival in the room.
Good location and price point.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dre5054543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your anniversary with us and look forward to celebrating with you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I am so very happy to have stayed at this hotel. It's a boutique renovation that retains style from the Art Deco age. Upon arrival there are inspired snacks at the front desk. The rooms are done well and a pleasure to be in. It's a clean hotel with hats off to the crew there.

My favorite part of the hotel is the rooftop patio bar which has outstanding views of the Mississippi River and the city. There is a smart little lounge off the lobby worth taking time in.

I plan to take my husband to Memphis for his birthday and this is where we are going to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaFryklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed your accommodation and our location. We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your husband’s birthday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is very, ver nice. It was upscale and clean and in a great location. The staff was very friendly. I have a couple complaints about the room. it was really small. A queen is really just big enough for one person. And the bathroom was not set-up well. There was no where to put your stuff in the bathroom but on the floor. I moved a ottoman from the room into the bathroom to put my stuff on. The shower was a bathtub with a half glass door. Water got all over the floor and it was cold because so open. I did not enjoy the shower. I would stay there again, but would choose and different room and ask for one with a different type bathtub/shower.

Room Tip: Queen room small for two people. Try a king or double.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amycft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for your response. On your next visit I would like to recommend the King Deluxe room. It includes a separate tub and walk-in shower with a relaxing rain showerhead and I believe you will be pleased with the oversized bathroom in this accommodation. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a 3 night stay on 8th floor. Could not believe how noisy the area was. 1st night we had rubbish trucks emptying skips in the laneway below from 3.45am for 45mins, 2 night rubbish truck again at 4.50am, 3rd night ridiculously loud music thumping from an open air restaurant below, next door, at ground. Did not get one full nights sleep. Staff were friendly and room decor was nice with spacious bathroom.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angiehmemphis, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for the noise issues you experienced. Usually our location away from Beale Street works to our benefit. I have contacted our Waste Mgmt company to ensure that they hadn't modified our pick-up time and once I confirmed that they hadn't, we reached out to our business neighbors to see if they would consider modifying their pickup hours. We have also contacted the restaurant next door and reminded them of the noise ordinance hours. I know that our efforts won't impact your concerns but hopefully you will consider staying with us in the future to allow us to redeem ourselves. Sincerely, Angie Hines, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Madison is all urban charm. Well-located downtown, it is only a few minutes away from Mud Island and Beale Street and a short drive from Graceland, the Botanical Gardens, the airport, and the Memphis Zoo. I ended up with a junior suite on the 11th floor and enjoyed the quiet location and the spacious layout. The bathroom even had a scale that said I weighed five pounds less than I knew I did--how great is that! There was a really good restaurant on the first floor (Eighty3), great front desk staff who were more than happy to help me navigate around the city, and great valets who made my car materialize almost instantly. There were a few quirks (no clock in the room which didn't matter to me but might to some;no fan in the bathroom which made the mirror steamy for only a few minutes). But this is indeed a great place to stay if you want to stay at a place with atmosphere and a sophisticated vibe. One bit of advice: the rooftop terrace bar has a great view but it's really not amenable to solo travelers, especially women, on a Friday or Saturday night unless you want to be surrounded by partiers and couples. Instead, do what I did and go up for a drink mid-afternoon and you might just have the place to yourself!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhartig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your response. We appreciate you letting other guests know of our central location to Memphis entertainment and attractions. It is good to hear you enjoyed your accommodation. I would like to apologize for the clock not being in the room. This is a standard and the Executive Housekeeper has addressed the situation. I also appreciate your review of our rooftop lounge, Twilight. On Friday and Saturday nights it is a very popular spot but for our hotel guests it is accessible 24 hours a day with your room key and we have bar service beginning at 11:30am. Thanks for recommending visiting Twilight earlier in the day, it is much quieter and the view of the Mississippi River is fantastic even in the middle of the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This Hotel was a wonderful place to stay! Excellent service from a friendly staff and within walking distance to downtown attractions. Rooms were large, clean, comfortable and well appointed. The Hotel was quiet and beautiful. We visited the Twilight twice to watch the gorgeous sunset over the Mississippi and Eighty-Three twice for breakfast. The service, food and beverages were all terrific!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. Your picture of the sunset from our lounge, Twilight is fantastic! I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location and your accommodations. I will be sure to let the team know of your accolades.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,255 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $188 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing