We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay at the Madison”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay at the Madison”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Recently my husband and I spent a Saturday night at this lovely downtown Memphis hotel. We are Memphians, and like to enjoy our fun downtown. This hotel is lovely, and the staff that we interacted with were friendly and helpful. I was especially impressed by the housekeeping staff that greeted us with a cheerful hello everytime we encountered them in the hotel.

The room itself was very small, but beautifully appointed with all the amenities that you could possibly need, but my favorite part of the room was the wonderful rain shower! I sure wish I had one at my house. The hotel is in a perfect location in downtown, close enough to walk everywhere, or catch the Trolley that stops right outside the door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Now you can consider us your home away from with great rain shower heads. We look forwarding to seeing you on your next overnight stay in downtown Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    436
    174
    79
    53
See reviews for
252
842
73
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, AR
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are spacious, the beds are very comfortable!

My complaint would be that the shower was not completely cleaned. No one wants to get in the shower with remnants of others left there for you. Also- we ordered room service one morning. Our bill was $55 for cold biscuits and gravy and eggs, coffee and OJ. It took an hour to be delivered. Definitely not worth it!

Loved the roof top bar this is a must see and free entry for guests.

The hotel is pricey- not sure yet if I felt like the Madison was worth the cost. If continental breakfast was included I would have no problem giving the value of this hotel as five stars. I think the Madison should rethink not offering breakfast. Even higher end customers want the convenience and ease of breakfast being included on site.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justfine7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angiehmemphis, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. Your kind remarks will be shared with the team as will your candid concerns. Our Housekeeping team and In Room Dining team will receive ongoing training as we investigate your experience. We sincerely hope that you will allow us to redeem ourselves on your next visit to Memphis.

Sincerely,
Angie Hines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had a group of ~20 there for a week for a workshop. Everyone loved the accomodations and the service we recieved with the meeting facilities was the best I have ever had. The rooftop bar is the best view in Memphis and the food was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for selecting the Madison hotel for your group. We appreciate the "Great" review and agree Twilight, our rooftop lounge has the best view in Memphis. We look forward to confirming your next group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Mississippi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We celebrated our 30th anniversary on August 3rd and had a wonderful time. Everything was top notch from the room to the staff that we encountered throughout our stay. They made us feel welcomed and were very cordial and sincere in asking if everything was good concerning our stay. We had a king suite on the 15th floor that was extremely nice and well decorated. The view of the Mississippi River was really nice and the bed was very comfortable. We really had a lot of fun on the roof top. Good atmosphere. We will return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing this momentous occasion with us. We are grateful to have been a part of the celebration and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, OH
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the last weekend as part of a multi-stop vacation throughout the Midwest and South. This was our most mediocre stay of all our hotels. We utilized a package through Groupon which entitled us to a king room, bottle of wine, and valet parking. I purchased the package and immediately called to schedule reservations only to be told I had to upgrade to a king junior suite at an additional $60 a day. I did so happily, after reading previous reviews. The hotel was very well maintained and the front desk employees were very hospitable. However, the problem comes in with the valet service. The cost is $29 a day, which was included in our package so I don't know if that was the reason for subpar service. We retrieved the car the first day and did our touring for the day. We returned the car to the valet location, only to find no valet or doorman at all. After five minutes the keys were given to the front desk and they assured us it would be taken care of. Three hours later we left the hotel only to find our vehicle still parked in the same place and the valet complaining about it. We explained that it was our vehicle and what happened. They went to the front desk where they could not find our keys. They were eventually located in a drawer and again assured we would have no concerns. The next day upon departure we requested our vehicle 30 minutes in advance. It was not there because it could not be located. There appeared to be confusion with the ticket we provided and the ticket that was placed on the vehicle when it was finally retrieved off the street the evening before. I reported this to the front desk along with our concerns as to which it was said it would be relayed to management. This went unnoticed. This entire occurrence took longer than anticipated causing us to be be late for the next scheduled event. The hotel, as a whole, was very nice but no where near the cost we paid, or especially the cost without a discount. There are many other better hotels for the money. Please stay else where.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLoverWarren_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. I would like to first apologize for any inconvenience you experienced as result of our valet service. I am glad that you were happy with your accommodations and our staff but I am extremely disappointed in your valet experience. The Front Office Manager and the Valet Manager are addressing this with the team and we will correct the communication breakdowns that caused you to have such an unpleasant experience. This is not our typical level of service and I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Madison Hotel is a wonderful place to stay in Memphis. The hotel staff was particularly welcoming and helpful. Our room was luxurious and the rooftop bar was a special treat with a wonderful view of the Mississippi River. Everything at the Madison is meticulously attended to, from the room to the staff, we loved it all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellertoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We appreciate your review and acknowledgement of our staff and accommodations. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marfa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. After checking in, everyone treated us by name, made suggestions where to eat. The rooftop has a bar and you can watch the sun set, as a guest you have key access 24 hours so could watch sunrise if so inclined. There is a high tea, and I think complimentary breakfast, neither of which we did. Great location. Rooms large (ours was a junior suite) and well lit bathrooms. Looking forward to a future stay.

Room Tip: The junior suites are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarfaDizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank for you review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we do not offer free breakfast however as a thank you to our guests confirming their reservati0n directly with the hotel we offer Food and Beverage discounts. At this time we have also replaced our High Tea with Breakfast in Twilight on Saturdays and Sundays hopefully next time you will have an opportunity enjoy these amenities as well. Thank you selecting the Madison and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing