We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop sunset”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. After checking in, everyone treated us by name, made suggestions where to eat. The rooftop has a bar and you can watch the sun set, as a guest you have key access 24 hours so could watch sunrise if so inclined. There is a high tea, and I think complimentary breakfast, neither of which we did. Great location. Rooms large (ours was a junior suite) and well lit bathrooms. Looking forward to a future stay.

Room Tip: The junior suites are very spacious
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarfaDizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank for you review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we do not offer free breakfast however as a thank you to our guests confirming their reservati0n directly with the hotel we offer Food and Beverage discounts. At this time we have also replaced our High Tea with Breakfast in Twilight on Saturdays and Sundays hopefully next time you will have an opportunity enjoy these amenities as well. Thank you selecting the Madison and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,976)
There are newer reviews for Madison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,385 - 1,391 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband & I greatly enjoyed our stay at the Madison for our 5th Anniversary! The suites are beautifully decorated & very clean. The staff was awesome & made us feel at home. The hotel provies an awesome view of the Mississippi River. The roof top was very relaxing & romantic. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice, classy, clean & friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pookie1memphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation. We are grateful that you chose us to be a part of your 5th Anniversary. We look forward to celebrating many more years with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I decided to stay in downtown Memphis for the 4th of July. Although I grew up in Memphis, I had never stayed downtown so this was a new experience. We were thoroughly impressed by the Madison Hotel! The staff members were polite and hospitable. Upon check in, we were upgraded to a suite which was great. The rooms were beautiful with a spacious bedroom and a large bathroom. The suite also had a wet bar and a separate living area which was nicely decorated. Another great feature was the Twilight Sky Terrace lounge located at the top of the hotel. You can relax at the lounge with a great view of Mississippi River, Mud Island and De Soto Bridge. The hotel is located on the trolley line so there is easy access to Beale Street as well. A great overnight stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNev1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and we appreciate you selecting us for your first stay in downtown Memphis. We would love to see you again soon and look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Seventeen stories above the Madison, Twilight Sky Terrace is Memphis’ newest shining star. Boasting an all new custom design and featuring modern cushy seating around a dancing firepit, sleek sun shades to alleviate the Memphis heat, and a communal table to toast the night away - Twilight Sky Terrace rivals most rooftops found in chic urban locations like LA, and New York.

Spend your evening enjoying custom-crafted cocktails, small delectable bites, and the most dramatic sunset view Memphis has to offerWith sweeping views of the Mississippi River, Twilight Sky Terrace is the newest nightlife (and daytime) destination in Memphis. After work, sip hand-crafted cocktails in cushy fireside seating, or share delectable bites with friends around our communal table with the dramatic Memphis sunset as your backdrop.

Our version of Memphis nightlife - when the sun goes down, the beat goes on. Soak in the contemporary vibe under the Memphis night sky, sway to custom soundtracks, and enjoy the pop, stir, and pour of our extensive bar offerings.
Twilight by Day

If you’re into seeing the best Mississippi River view in the city, stop by Twilight any day of the week – it’s the perfect place to take in the Memphis scenary, relax under the memphis sky, and pose for pics with the dramatic backdrop of the Mississippi River.

Room Tip: I didnt stay at this hotel as I am a local. The view is beautiful and after going to Peabody roof t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank uptown63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Wow! Thanks for the great review of Twilight. I could not have said it better myself. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing in Twilight. If you would like to have a short weekend getaway we also have some great room packages at the Madison and you take the elevator home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Memphis is a superb city. This is a lovely hotel. We got it on a 'secret hotel' deal, and so it was great value. Good location! Didn't come with breakfast and this was an issue as downtown Memphis isn't the best for early morning food! But a nice hotel...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharmlessNerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review and recognition of the city of Memphis. On your next stay book directly with us and enjoy a $25 food and beverage credit to experience our restaurant’s great breakfast. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a wonderful time during our first trip to Memphis and that was at least partly due to the excellent service and accommodations at The Madison. We don't often splurge on luxury hotels but we were tempted by the hotel's excellent location and a package that included valet parking (for an additional fee) if we booked directly through the hotel.

The staff was friendly and kind and location is perfect -- there were several easy walks to interesting destinations, and there's a trolley stop a half block away. It took less than twenty minutes to drive to Graceland.

Our room had an awesome view of the river and we had cocktails on the rooftop our first evening in town. It was nice to feel like we could still do something fun, close to our room, even after arriving so late on a Friday evening. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: If you go to bed early or mind a bit of bass, request a lower floor or one further from the rooftop...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KV-CLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

To be one of the main reasons you loved your stay in our great city is honor. We are glad you were able to benefit from our parking package that includes valet parking at no additional charge and we appreciate your acknowledgement of our service, staff, accommodation and location. If you do have the opportunity to stay longer on your next visit please take the advantage of additional discounts we offer extended stay visitors. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Modern decor and facilities, attentive and friendly staff, excellent restaurant. The rooftop terrace is a delightful place to relax. Large bathroom (though shower, not bath in my room) Located in downtown Memphis, it's great for anyone visiting the city. Unlike others nearby that have fowl in the lobby, this is not a tourist attraction and therefore is quiet and elegant.

Room Tip: I would imagine the river facing rooms on the top floors would have spectacular views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrogsAndNewts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

It is an honor to exceed our guest’s expectations. Thank you for your acknowledgement of us compared to others in the downtown market. We are glad that you were able to experience the Madison Hotel. Great tip for other travelers regarding the Riverview rooms, you are right these rooms have some of the best views in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,254 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $192 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing