We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This spectacular sparkling hotel has deco modern class. Having just disembarked from a fabulous Queen of the Mississippi riverboat journey that had brought me from New Orleans up to Memphis, I was completely awed by my suite here. Everything delighted -- from the soaring ceilings and sumptuous furnishings and linens, to a wet bar niche, spacious living room with elegant french doors shielding the very posh bedroom and glamorous bath. Grand comfortable luxury, but that's not all -- this hotel is strategically located close to fun but away from noise, and the stellar elegant staff couldn't've been more welcoming and helpful! Above all, don't miss sunset from the rooftop lounge with the absolute best view of Memphis and the river! Better yet, the lounge is open to the public, so meeting both locals and other travelers there was splendid, providing real neighborhood warmth! And when it was time for me to depart, gallant staffer Jeremy made certain I was delivered to the Amtrak station in time, which in Memphis is no easy task. It's astonishing how difficult it is to find the Amtrak station (and then when you do find it, you still wonder if you're in the right place ....).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your accommodation and it is great that you had an opportunity to experience the great sunsets at Twilight. We agree it is the absolute best view of Memphis and the Mississippi River. I will also be sure Jeremy knows of your compliments. Thank you for staying with us to end your travels on the Fabulous Queen Riverboat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    419
    166
    74
    52
See reviews for
234
815
70
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked a two-night stay through Hotwire at $126.00 per night. Now they have done away with the resort fee, but instead have raised the parking fee to a pricey $29 a night. Had to circle the block to figure how to get to the valet, and then did not use the car until I left. Not a bad walk to Beale Street where most of the action is. While you can't call downtown Memphis as upscale, I did not feel unsafe. I did not get the breakfast voucher as Hotwire client, but did eat at eighty3, and it was fine.

My compact room was right next to the elevator and had little view. On the plus side were the quality toiletries provided, a lighted mounted mirror in the bathroom, fluffy towels, an umbrella, a friendly staff, and the rooftop bar. Unfortunately the bathrobe lacked a belt, the wi-fi signal in the room was weak, and there was very little counter space in the bathroom with its pedestal sink.

While trendy and hip, I think The Madison is a better fit for the business traveler than for the tourist like me. I was in the room so little that I would probably book closer to the touristy Beale Street in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angiehmemphis, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Madison and your visit to Memphis. I am sorry that everything wasn't perfect in your guestroom - we will certainly address the concerns that you brought to our attention. The Madison Hotel was created from a 1905 Bank Building. Although this offers us many remarkable features, such as our Exercise room vault - it also creates many different room types. Some are more petite than others. I hope you will choose us again and try one of our larger rooms - you are sure to be comfortable.
Sincerely,
Angie Hines, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This Hotel was amazing. Beautiful, spacious rooms, very clean and excellent food. The service was great, everyone was very friendly and helpful. Room service was a little expensive, but it is room service and the food was great. They have a beautiful, small, cozy rooftop lounge that over looks the Mississippi river and the city. We went up for a drink and ran into Magic Johnson and a few other retired players. The Hotel is within walking distance to everywhere and the trolley comes through at the corner. The rooms are a little expensive, but it was one of the nicest hotels I have been in. No spa or childrens activites, not really a place for small children. Children would be fine there, its just more of an upscale adult oriented hotel. My teenager loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Madison is a true boutique hotel. In many places boutique is code for old and run-down, but not here. The property is well-maintained and is ultra-clean. The rooms are small but comfortable and inviting. I can't say enough about the view. We were on the 16th floor in a corner room so we had a view of both the river and the city. It is also obvious that the management puts a LOT of emphasis on guest interaction because without fail, we were warmly greeted by every staff member we encountered. Even more impressive, the greetings seemed quite genuine, not forced or out of habit. The Madison is a conveniently located gem in downtown Memphis, only half a mile from Beale Street. We will definitely stay there on future trips to Memphis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your wonderful comments! We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very fortunate to have a great staff that strives to exceed our guest’s expectations, and will certainly be sharing your comments. Very happy to see you enjoyed our great location as well and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hotel personnel were really, really nice to me and my wife. We felt welcomed by everyone.

The location is great - about a 5 blocks from Beale Street (you get there walking in less than 10 minutes). If you check out Beale street and get over it quickly (like we did), there are many other dining options nearby. Also, there are several self-parking garages within a one-block radius.

Our room had great amenities (nice flat-screen TV ready for HDMI connection), beautiful couch, chair and a nice, cozy bed.

The hotel has a great rooftop bar that provides stunning views of the Mississippi. Not to be missed during your stay.

I would certainly stay at this hotel again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Junior suites are worth the upgrade fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TuMeroCharro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! We are so glad to see you enjoyed the hotel and location. We appreciate your review and your comments regarding our staff. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was in Memphis for the BBQ Festival and a reunion. From the moment I set foot on the curb at the Madison, I was welcomed and treated like family. Starting with Billy at the door, Miss Rose in Housekeeping, Rico in Room Service, Ashlie in the Bar and the lovely Nicole at the desk, I was given above and beyond the call treatment. I felt very special. These five people, particularly Billy and Ashlie, helped make this trip the best four days of my life. They are a credit to your organization ! I will be back and never stay anywhere else in Memphis.

Becky Tous
The lady with the hats !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyTous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Ms. Tous,

Thank you for staying with us during the Barbecue Festival. We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very fortunate to have a great staff that strives to exceed our guest's expectations, and will certainly be sharing your comments. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back.

Lesli Lee
Director of Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We made a quick trip to Memphis a reunion with old friends. The Madison Hotel is located downtown is a nice, boutique hotel. The hotel was good with smallish rooms and quality amenities. It was expensive for Memphis and for what it offered, but far nicer than the tired old Peabody Hotel located nearby.

Downtown Memphis is not a very inviting place to visit or stay. We were there over a weekend and there was not a great deal going on apart from night clubs on Beale Street. Our advise to everyone is to try to avoid Beale Street, it is seedy and we just didn't feel very safe walking in that area, or anywhere in downtown Memphis for that matter. During the day, downtown Memphis is virtually empty and we noted a number of blighted buildings. The riverfront is nice and we always enjoy seeing the mighty Mississippi River.

In short, this is a nice hotel that just happens to be located in a downtown area we will avoid in the future.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a river view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevernsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your response. I am happy to see you enjoyed the hotel and appreciate your recommendation. I am sorry you did not enjoy the downtown area. Although we are in the heart of downtown, we are also convenient to several areas of Memphis such as Midtown. Midtown is a short ride about 4 miles from the hotel and also has great food and entertainment options. Memphis is known for its downtown Beale Street, fun music environment but has many other options for varying personalities and styles. Perhaps on your next visit you will have an opportunity to experience other areas of the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Big Cypress Lodge
#6 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing