We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local who knows the other options”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local who knows the other options”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I am a local resident who works downtown and knows the other options of places to stay here. The Madison Hotel and it's staff have an excellent reputation in our community, so when a special friend came to town, it was a no brainer of where we would stay. Rooms are gorgeous, views are fabulous, and the rooftop bar and seating area were spectacular. All of the staff were so personable and professional without being stuffy! This hotel is close to everything. During the day, you can walk to Beale Street, or grab the trolley. The only complaint I had was the cost of valet parking. $29 a day is higher than anything I've paid in large cities at comparable 5 star hotels. Parking yourself on the street can be tricky, at best (even for a knowledgeable local like me). Still would recommend this hotel as a MUST if you come downtown. The restaurant attached to this hotel has fabulous food in an artsy, fine dining atmosphere. Try it for breakfast as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view on a higher floor. Choice location for this hotel, so don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
What an honor to be recognized by another Memphian. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our team and location. On your next visit you may want to try one of our inclusive that include the parking. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    465
    187
    84
    57
See reviews for
263
888
76
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great hotel, rooms are beautiful, beds are so so comfortable. Everything is lovely. I have been traveling for years, I must say, I was very impressed. Rooftop is beautiful. View is lovely up there. This is a must hotel for anyone who is going to Memphis. The location was great. Trolley stopped at the corner. Love, love, loved it. We had a junior suite. The price was great. The staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margie497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation and letting other guests know of our great location and one of kind view of the sunset. We love it when our guests are so pleased with their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I like to find hotels that have character and reflect their locations; it's nice to know where you are when you wake up in the morning! It's also important to me that they be both elegant and comfortable. The Madison was all of these things. There are artworks everywhere that reflect Memphis's musical heritage. The hotel itself is one block from a great walk along the Mississippi, or over to hear live music on Beal Street. The staff are unusually attentive, polite and helpful. The breakfasts are good, and my in-room dinner one night was exceptional. It was a working trip for me, and this hotel made the whole experience a pleasure. By the way, there is a wonderful new bar on the penthouse level; it has a panoramic view to the West, and I watched a gorgeous sunset over the river.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear that we made your business trip special. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Memphis whether business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Loved this property! Everyone went out of their way to make me feel welcomed from the moment I arrived. The hotel itself is beautiful, as a music lover I love the artwork and tributes throughout the property to all the great musicians that have come through or call Memphis home. The room I had was spacious, including the bathroom which isn't always the case in a boutique hotel. Location was perfect, right next to a trolley stop and only a few blocks from Beale, worked out very nice! Enjoyed a few meals as well at the restaurant, and probably overindulged a bit, but if you go, make sure you get the deep-fried Oreos. YOU NEED TO EAT THESE NOW!!

Can't wait to get back, I won't stay anywhere else in Memphis, ever. Looking forward to the rooftop opening next time I'm there to enjoy the great views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We appreciate your recognition of the hotel accommodation and staff. We definitely have a great location and are always glad when our guests take advantage of this. I agree that the Deep Fried Oreos in eighty3 are the best! You will be happy to know the rooftop, Twilight is now open. Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay and we look forward to you returning to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
201 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

From the moment we checked in, to the moment we checked out, customer service was outstanding. Since a room with two beds was not available, the front desk upgraded us to a one bedroom suite at a nominal charge. Once we unlocked the suite, we could quickly tell the pullout sofa was too small for our two teenage boys. The front desk agreed to rent us a second room, at a reduced price, and allowed us to stay in the one bedroom suite. Nice!

Our suite was clean and well-appointed. I especially liked the Italian made linen robe and walk-in shower. I am guessing the Madison caters to NBA players, because the shower head was nice and high.

The hotel building is older and the Madison has done an excellent job on keeping it looking fresh and up to date. Some architectural elements they had to work around, which I will call character. The large HD TV in the bedroom of the suite was not in the bedroom. You could see it easily from the bed, but it took some getting use to. There was frequently a wait at the elevators (I believe that there are only three?) and we used this time to discuss plans or check our phones.

Make sure to visit the Twilight Sky Terrace on the rooftop. It offers excellent views of Memphis (beautiful sunset), firepit and cool cocktails.

We always found a convenient place to park the car on the street throughout our stay. We were able to easily walk to restaurants (try the “Blue Plate” for breakfast), the Main Street Trolley and Beale Street (a little further, but do-able if you don’t wear high heels). I LOVED the running paths along the Mississippi Riverfront and Mud Island.

The workout gym in the basement was larger than most hotels I have been to lately and it had all the equipment I needed. It was worth visiting just to see the bank vault. Also in the basement was the pool, perfect for swimming laps.

Madison gave us a great experience and a great price through Priceline. Who knew?!

Room Tip: Our room was close to elevators and we heard no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GottaRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments! Our Front Office Supervisor remembers your arrival and she is happy that we are able to accommodate you and your sons. All of us appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your time. We are very fortunate to have a great staff that strives to exceed our guest’s expectation. We also appreciate you recommending Twilight. We agree it has the best views of in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very welcoming employees on every level go out of their way to great their guest always a smile on their faces! The rooms were very nice and comfortable didn't hear any outside noises slept great
I felt very wanted as a guest I totally would recommend wholeheartedly this Hotel in Memphis!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lkhines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation. We will be sure our staff knows of your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff city, mo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

WOW!! I can't say enough about the staff.. Wonderfull. Everyone, the front desk, the maids, room service, everyone! While the staff was the best part, the hotel itself is gorgeous.. We had a king deluxe.. The room was a little small, but the large bathroom made up for it.. The Madison is also in a great location, trolley stop right around the corner. We can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Don't go smaller than the King Deluxe..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are so glad to see you enjoyed the hotel's staff and location. We sincerely appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.1 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing