We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointing, considering the cost. Run like a $90.00 a night motel, but at a cost of over $200.00. Rooms also tiny.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing, considering the cost. Run like a $90.00 a night motel, but at a cost of over $200.00. Rooms also tiny.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The average room is small. During our four night stay the rates varied from about 250.00 To about 500.00 because of the Liberty bowl. Room not clean, toiletries not replenished, scale old and 20 pounds off and restaurants divorce and very understaffed for breakfast, 35 minutes to be partially served as I write this. In future I would avoid this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fair-person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angiehmemphis, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
I am truly sorry that we disappointed you during your recent stay. We enjoy a sterling reputation for high quality and exceptional service, clearly in your case we missed the mark. I thank you for you candid feedback and will review your comments with the team. Once again, my sincere apologies. Angie, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    348
    137
    64
    47
See reviews for
198
682
64
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a smaller hotel than the Peabody. Had a boutique feel to it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We upgraded to a small suite for $20 more per night, which was well worth it. Very comfortable king size bed, well appointed bathroom, and comfortable "living room", which can be closed off from the bedroom by a set of French doors. The restaurant in the hotel, 83 Madison, was also very good. We used our daily vouchers there for breakfast that essentially gave us a free breakfast, which was very convenient. (They no longer have a free continental breakfast on the Mezzanine level.)The valet parking was very efficient and our car was available a few minutes after calling down for it. There's a rooftop bar, but we didn't spend much time there because it was too cold. Very nice views from there. Two negatives: the coffee machine didn't work because I think something was wrong with the CFI outlet, and the printer in the "business services room" wasn't working. Neither of which were a big deal to me and I did not bother to report the problems to the management. This is a good alternative to the Peabody and we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if the cost differential is not that great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMore1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We appreciate your endorsement for a stay downtown and I am glad your overall experience was excellent. I would like to apologize for the problems with the coffee maker. You will be happy to know that we have upgraded all of rooms with Keurig coffee makers which I hope you will experience on your next visit. We have also addressed the problem with the business center printer. I am sorry for any inconvenience this caused you. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

If you are looking for truly a 4 star hotel - this is it in Memphis. It may not have the Ducks that the Peabody has, but it is a great hotel. Room was spacious, staff attended to our every need and food excellent. Rooftop bar incredible. You might pay a bit more at the Madison, but its worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Your recommendation and endorsement is greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I came to Memphis Christmas Shopping and decided to splurge and stay at the Madison. We've stayed at the Peabody several times and wanted a change. Here's how it stacked up. The check in was kind of slow but thorough. There was only one person at the desk. The room was very well designed with some high end touches like the $700 sound system that we were so impressed with that we researched it on the spot. This was certainly not found at the Peabody. The bathroom was well appointed and probably triple the size of the last one I had at the Peabody.. I paid extra for a river view but am not sure it was worth it because you had to first look at the air conditioning system on the roof right in front of you, then past that was the river....however, I loved the rooftop deck and wished the weather had been better so we could have really enjoyed it. It was a very short walk down to Beale Street where absolutly nothing was going on. :( but it was early and we didnt want to stay out late. The Madison didn't have any entertainment to keep us in their lobby so we spent most of our time in the Peabody lounge listening to the beautiful pianist and enjoying their massive Christmas tree. Woud we go back to the Madison, probably so. The Madison's room size in comparison to the Peabody is much larger and more comfortable to me for about the same price. If I'm going to take a high end room, I want space, which the Peabody didn't give me at that price range.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review and comparison. We value the feedback of our guests and are grateful for your recommendation. We appreciate you selecting the Madison Hotel and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Memphis is great!
Madision hotel is not so great.
The positive is the rooftop bar beautiful views and great service.
The rooms were very small, the staff very unaccomadating. We were a group of 6 renting 3 rooms. We were placed all over the hotel, charged extra for everything, including the free contenintal breakfast which they give you a voucher for the restaurant $10 for 2. Then proceeded to charge $15 at checkout. When asked about the charge we were told that we received a voucher. No afternoon tea as advertised. Overall a real disappointment. Too much to deal with on a vacation. Money trap is my definition of the Madision hotel and I will be back to Memphis it was great, the Madision did not ruin our trip, but I will not return there. I will Try the Peabody next time.

Room Tip: Do not patronize this establishment.You can do better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

There's nothing that annoys me more about a hotel then surprise fees. This hotel is valet park only, so you're already paying $25 more than the rate. But then there's also an $11 "amenities fee." What are the amenities? A pool and slow internet.

Resorts can charge a resort fee. But hotels that charge extra for basic services should just raise their rate instead of tricking the customer.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank wordwrote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The amenities, hotel, and staff are excellent. No complaints from that side, but the $26 parking with the 10.96 fee added on to the end are excessive considering all the other taxes and fees we already have to pay when staying in larger cities. It can't be considered free wifi if you get charged $11. I love this hotel but upfront pricing should be required and the norm for all hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawkinstx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay but disappointed to see the service charge and parking fees were not communicated during the reservation process. The service charge is assessed to all guests and per our standards should have been communicated during the reservations process. We also have the parking fee and service charge listed on our website, in our confirmation letters and we communicate one final time at check in so that all guests are informed. I apologize that you did not receive this information prior to confirming your reservation but hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 138 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 stars 2,724 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing