We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed one night and it was within walking distance of Bealle Street and many local restaurants. It was clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. We went to the rooftop bar but were not impressed. It was hot, although a storm was coming in, so the breeze helped. There was no shade when we were there. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. I would probably stay here again unless I found something else more interesting. We did not eat in the restaurant and others we talked to said that the service was very slow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartschmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy the rooftop but I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the interaction with our team. We hope to see you on your next visit to Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    465
    187
    84
    57
See reviews for
263
888
76
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Let me just start by saying if this is truly a four diamond hotel I would hate to see the rest of the hotels that Memphis has to offer….

Before I stayed I emailed the hotel with a question and got a snotty reply, I replied with a second question and I am still waiting on the response..

Called the hotel then to ask my question, about what was the best way to get form the airport the person on the desk had no idea...

Got into the room and it was dirty. The ceiling looked as if it were about to fall in, hair in the bathroom. We moved rooms and that was far better.

Asked the door man for a map of the area and to point out were the hotel was on it … he had no idea where the hotel was…

We had breakfast in the hotel, that was the only nice part...

Had no stamps at the front desk to send a postcard!

To top it all off I got my credit card bill and it had charges on it from the hotel, I emailed the hotel for a copy of my bill and seen that there were minibar charges on it which we did not have. I have email the hotel and asked them to remove it… but I have had no one get back to me. Few days later I rang the hotel and asked them to remove it, after putting me on hold for an age they could not find me.

What’s funny about this is that after you stay in the hotel they email you with a survey, which is a great way of catching bad comments before they end up on things like yelp and TripAdvisor. I filled out this email and told them all about what happened and no one got back to me so here we are... the hotel lack with the ability to follow up on issues. Overall I would not go back, nor recommend it for others...

I am really starting to think that southern hospitality is just a myth

Room Tip: ...book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stan099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angiehmemphis, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell me about your experience. I am sorry that we were not able to provide accurate information in a timely manner. I am addressing your concerns.

Sincerely,
Angie Hines, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Hotel is very hip and trendy is looks and feel. It has an indoor pool and nice small gym. The bar restaraunt is small but very good. On the roof they have a spectacular view of the city. It has tables and full bar open till 11pm. It is only a 5 minute walk to Beale St. The trolly is right on the corner also.The best part of all this is the GREAT staff they have. The most helpful friendly people I have ever dealt with HANDS DOWN.

Room Tip: The upgrade rooms are very roomy with a living area then the bedroom is down a small hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are so glad to see you enjoyed the hotel and location. It is especially great to see how much you enjoyed our staff. We sincerely appreciate your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Other then a housekeeping issue. I loved the Madison hotel. Charming, Close to everything, Close enough to walk to Beale St. But far enough from the noise. The Trolly is right on the corner if you want a fun ride to Beale St. I like it better then the Peabody hotel. It has more of a quiet cool vibe. Where as the Peabody is full of tours constantly coming through the hotel. The Peabody hotel lobby is always packed. Hotel Madison rooms are a nice size and bathrooms are big. Beautifully decorated, Great cocktails, Friendly Staff. The issue I had with housekeeping was it was non existing. I really think this was a problem with one staff member and not the hotel. I will return and again stay at the lovely Madison.
Note! When returning to airport from most all hotels, take a taxi not the van service that shows up even tho you requested a taxi. They will charge you $15.00 a head and stop at every hotel to pick up others going to the airport. It will take you much longer and a lot more money then a simple taxi ride. If your only one person it might be worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a tub. Higher floor, less street noise, make sure housekeeping is attentive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank deegalNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for selecting the Madison Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is in a good location for all the downtown activities of Memphis. There was some confusion upon arrival and were stopped at the elevator after check in and were transferred to another room. After a wait of 20 minutes were finally off to our room where we were interrupted by hotel staff to inspected to room which they had forgotten to do. The rooms are small and the walls are paper-thin so you can hear the conversation in the next room. The room and bath were clean but cramped for even two people. As in another review here, I was given an all-inclusive price but was charged an addition service fee upon check in. This was an average hotel stay, but for the price, I expected much more!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I would like to apologize for you not experiencing the exceptional service I know we are capable of providing. I trust on your next visit we will demonstrate the high level of service you are accustomed to receiving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is a converted bank building that is located close to the trams and most attractions in downtown Memphis including the waterfront and Beale Street.
The rooms are quite small compared to modern standards, but everything is clean and crisp. I have never met a such a great group of well-trained, accommodating hotel staff before.
The room rate included a $10 per night voucher for breakfast in the adjoining restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Walrus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review and your comments regarding our staff. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our 2 night stay at the Madison was very pleasant. The rooms were clean and well kept. Very nice surroundings. The people in the hotel, from Cynthia the mgr, Kellie the Concierge, the front desk people and restaurant people were delightful. Couldn't have enjoyed it more. The but was the reservation clerk. When I made the reservations (by phone) the prices I was given were supposed to be inclusive of all taxes and I was told that the room came with Continental Breakfast. When the email confirmation arrived, the prices that I had been given, showed that they were pre tax prices. I called and spoke with the same reservation clerk. She assured me that everything I had understood was correct and she couldn't understand why the confirmation showed different. Three times I tried to have her send me a personal email confirming what she said, but each time, there was a different technical reason when I hadn't rcvd it; e.g. the system is down, I sent it but you didn't get it, etc, etc. I finally gave up trying. The hotel, ultimately charged taxes on all the prices she gave me; so they weren't inclusive and secondly the breakfast was chargeable in the hotel restaurant. Now they did give us a $ 10.00 coupon for breakfast, but it was not continental. I would have gone to the hotel anyway, but it would have been nice to have gotten the correct information.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyking09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Although it is disappointing to see that we did not meet our standards or your expectation regarding the reservation process I am glad to see you enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.1 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing