We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you just want a place to sleep,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #93 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Has an excellent location, and that's it.Owner should be ashamed.Clean your place up,elevator was very scary.There was a pill on the floor right beside the bed and after four nights it was still there.Found dead bugs,don't know what they were.Its too bad because it has such a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry_legal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 454 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2010

Excellent location right in the heart of Memphis - 5 minutes from Beale Street and Peabody hotel. Large room with king size bed and large bathroom. Pool was clean but did not use as only there for 1 night.
Easy check-in and parking is below the hotel on floors 1-7 then hotel rooms above - $10 to park. Excellent welcome and check in.
Price $73 plus tax - again excellent value compared to hotels in the area

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheScubaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Very friendly staff on reception. Room had a strange smell and is in need of a refubishment. Low budget hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cHuTnEyFeRrEtS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

stayed for 4 days before travelling to las vagas ,
bit apprehensive due to some reviews,but cant see what people are complaining about .
location 5 mins walk from centre if that about 500-600 yards .area bit run down but no problems with locals we met all very friendly.
hotel is above car park and reception is in car park and not your usual large foyer with restaurants etc
take life to room.
corridor bit smelly but nothing affective
we were on 8th floor and the room was quite big for our use and most important clean
and tidy, not the most classy décor or furniture but no complaints.
also the pool is on the 8th floor so a bonus.
to breakfast,well its down the lift and over to night club across the car park entrance,
it consists of bagels ,danish and muffins,that seem fresh to us.
juice and coffee .first gripe NO TEA, although the assistant did get us some hot water and we supplied the tea bags.
the other gripes no safe or deposit box and fridge extra
staff friendly willing to help.
so to round up,clean ,good location,free breakfast,pool,
and best of all price compared to some other local hotels ,
if cost is no problem and you want the best of every thing go to peabodys.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WOTME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed here in September on a one day trip of the city. I booked based on cost and location. Total for the room with parking cost $95. The location is great - only 4 block walk to Beale Street, but it was not the best property to stay at. It was a bit smelly, very old, not that clean (I do think I got bit by bedbugs here too). I would recommend one of the other properties in town - splurge a little more.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everyoneloveslaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I travel for a living and stay in hotels in the $50 to $100 range 3 times a week so this isnt a review by someone who only has hotel stays a few times a year. This was a quick weekend trip with my wife and i was surprised / relieved by this hotel after reading the other reviews.
1) Parking was convenient and cheap for location. $10
2) Check in and out were quick,easy, and room was correct. ( king bed )
3) Elevators as previously mentioned by other reviewers were hot,small, and slow but I was only in the elevator for about two minutes a day so no big deal there.
4) The room was large and clean, bed was comfortable, had two comfortable chairs, tv and air conditioner both had operational wireless remotes...nice touch on the a/c
5) The furniture and bedding while not new were still in very good condition and not dirty
6) Any other hotel in this ssame area would cost at least twice as much. I have stayed at 3 previously. Easy walk to all downtown locations. I am not by any means an avid walker.

The downside...( nothing to serious but i know some people are picky) :
All rooms are marked non smoking but my room (smoking by request) had an ashtray and upon calling the front desk was told that it was a smoking room.
There was a 2" pipe running across the top of the room on one wall but it was painted to match the wall and caused me no harm.
The breakfast situation seemed a little questionable so I didnt even go check it out plus there was a coffee pot in the room.
The bathroom was small and the water pressure wasnt that great but then again that was not a big part of my trip.
'

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sndsoulellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I was looking to save money while visiting my son in college. I checked in and was hit in the face with smoke smell--even though the hotel was supposed to be entirely nonsmoking. The air freshiner they used to try to "clean" the air only made things worse. The room REEKED of smoke and strawberries. Bathroom was old, bedding was gross. Area of town is questionalble. Not a safe walk to Beale Street. It is too far and too dark. Is is worth extra money to stay elsewhere. Staff was nice and let me leave cancelling my reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolina101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 138 in Memphis
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
950 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Gen X Inn
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn Memphis Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 22 North 3rd Street, Memphis, TN 38103-2694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $82 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing