We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, dirty and very poor service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #92 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Receptionists (2) were on the phone with personal calls when I arrived and made me wait. When i finally got my room key we went and parked in the garage (fee). The elevator area off the parking garage smelled like urine and the whole place just had a dirty feel. When we got to the room, the windows were open, probably to air out the smell, but there were bugs in the room. While I was going through killing the bugs, my wife noticed the comforter was stained with what appeared to ketchup and some other substance that resembled bodily fluids. She pulled back the comforter and dirty dirty dirty. We left the room and found a differant hotel......trashy trashy trashy. Only good thing is that it is close to Beale st.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikey72378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 452 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

PROS. Great location in the heart of downtown Memphis, halfway between Beale St. and the Convention Center. Two blocks to Main Street and the Tram, 10 minute pleasant walk to the Convention Center. Also 10 minute walk to Beale Street (food, drink and nightlife). The hotel is located in a parking structure with reception downstairs and rooms on floors 8-10. There is a pool on floor 8. Decent continental breakfast on floor 9. Room is spacious with classic furnishings and comfortable. Bathroom toilet and shower in one room, sink in another. Has coffee maker, ice bucket, iron and ironing board, hair dryer (on demand). Decent WIFI speed and free. Very quiet. Reception and cleaning staff are very friendly, courteous and helpful. You cannot beat the value for price. Highly recommended.
CONS. WIFI is not secure.

Room Tip: Outside room if you want a view of downtown; inside room if you want a view to pool courtyard.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalCit59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed in Memphis only 2 nights but I was really pleased with the choice we made to stay here. Our room had 2 big double beds, the tv had loads of channels, the air con was a welcome relief from the warmth outside (a little noisy but nothing to complain abt), the bathroom was spotless & there were plenty of towels & toiletries provided to us. The free breakfast was lovely & the staff were typical happy welcoming southerners. The pool looked lovely tho we didn't make it for a swim, and there were plenty of vending machines for snacks. Great location, only a cpl blocks from Beale Street but far enough not to have noise or traffic dramas. Def recommend!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steph000084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Econo Lodge is situated close to Beale street and the walk is safe. We didn't like outdoor accessible lifts to all floors with rooms, which essentially means a crazy man not in the hotel could potentially come knocking on your door at all hours.

Value for money was OK however sheets had multiple stains and we had an ant infestation on and below our sink. Picture attached shows a cup by the sink. I finished it went for a shower and 15 minutes later this was the result.

I would say if you want a close place to Beale street then this place isn't bad and is probably better priced than most others in Memphis however don't expect any decent service. I would have been impressed if the bloke behind the desk new what planet we were on never mind what hotel we were in.

Overall rating - Average but worth it for location.

Room Tip: Don't go in room 824. Lots of ants.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at I don't have to stay at a place with 5 stars or mints on the pillow but dam the bed was hard as a rock every bone in my body hurt only had four hours of sleep because of that dam bed the shower didn't work I had to take a tub bath called to see how the shower worked they didn't know didn't try to help at all we was going to stay two nights but only stayed for one got our money back if you going to stay in Memphis please spend a bit more and go somewhere eles because I wish I would have

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmhill1785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We only had time for one night in Memphis and this was the best deal we could find. If you book on the choicehotels.com web site, you can use a senior or AAA discount. The hotel is located on top of a parking ramp and the check in office is located at the entrance to the parking ramp. We found the office staff friendly and helpful. Our room on the 8th floor looked out on the (unheated) pool and patio, tho there is no patio entrance from the room. The room was quite large and the furnishings were fine, tho a bit dated. The room was clean. Wifi was free. We didn't try the breakfast provided, just had the in-room coffee. The toilet needed to be jiggled to stop it running, and I forgot to report that to management. We were charged $10 for parking. Everything is a bit old, but for the price and location I don't think you can beat it. We walked to restaurants in the Beale Street area, to the Memphis Redskins stadium and to the Peabody Hotel. The area right around the hotel has quite a few closed buildings and a few panhandlers, but nothing awful.

Room Tip: If you're going to be using the pool, try to get a room on the 8th floor.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Great location, rooms a nice size. Walking distance to Beale Street. Staff was friendly

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DatDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#10 of 138 in Memphis
880 reviews
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
926 reviews
Exchange Guest Suites
#79 of 138 in Memphis
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 22 North 3rd Street, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $74 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing