We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #94 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This hotel is not the place to stay for a night of comfort. Parking garage has abandoned cars(making you sense there is a safety issue), hotel room had mildew on the ceiling, bedspread had burned cigarette marks, towels were falling apart and shower/in room telephone did not work. Would not recommend if you want to rest easy at night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 454 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

I was on a cross country road trip and this was the perfect place to stop to see memphis for the night. The King room was impeccably clean and spacious. The front desk staff was very helpful in directing me towards things to do in Memphis. Yes the walls are thin, yes the building is kind of sketchy looking, but you can't beat the location for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abnormal456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This place was dirty....... old used wash cloth was left on the shower rod... ewww... doors not very secure. if you plan on staying here sleep with one eye open and bring some bleach.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shell489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This hotel’s first 3 or 4 floors are a car parking garage with the rooms being on the top three floors. The rooms are large and comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance of Beale St (although I wouldn’t recommend walking around from the hotel at night), the Peabody Centre and Mud Island. The complimentary breakfast is served downstairs in the bar. The selection is sparse with bagels or muffins to eat and coffee and orange juice to drink. Great BBQ downstairs. **Visited March 2010**

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Weren't sure what to expect and thought it could be poor but pleased to say it was pretty good for a city centre hotel with friendly easy going staff. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast a bit plain but it is a budget hotel

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itzapa-Itzapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Ok after reading the reviews I was a little skeptical however this really fit my budget so I booked it. I was picking my husband up there because he works on the Mississippi. He had been gone for 45 days I wanted it to be a nice night. Upon check in while talking to the clerk about why I was there she printed me directions to pick up my husband without me asking. Got to the room which is better than most Econo Lodges it wasn't finished being made up. The housekeeper apologized brought me a just laundered spread and asked if needed anything. So if you're expecting The Peabody you should probably book there! Keep up the good work Econo Lodge we will be visiting pretty frequently! Thank Again!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeg0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I took our first road trip, and Memphis was on the way back to Missouri. We chose this hotel based on the proximity to Beale St. The neighborhood is a bunch of closed down and boarded up buildings, and the area around the hotel is very scummy looking and scary. Regardless of the fact that Beale was 4/10's of a mile, Don't stay here!!!. The rooms are yucky, the toilet seat was broken and just laying on top of the toilet, the bathroom floor was sticky with some kind of film. We are not room snobs, as we travel quite frequently and have stayed everywhere. I did not realize what a dump Memphis is outside of the 2 block radius around the Jazz area. If you are traveling and need a laundromat: don't use the two that are showing up on Garmon. They are in burned out scary areas with high crime.
Here is a better idea: Spend the money and stay at either the Marriott, the Hampton or the Hilton off Beale. You will feel much safer.

Room Tip: Stay on or near Beale. Stay away from North 3rd street or the 3 blocks around it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina-Marie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 138 in Memphis
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
950 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Gen X Inn
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn Memphis Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 22 North 3rd Street, Memphis, TN 38103-2694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $82 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing