We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL IN MEMPHIS IS LOCATED AT 175 PEABODY PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL IN MEMPHIS IS LOCATED AT 175 PEABODY PLACE”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

WOW----this hotel know how to serve their guests. Beautiful hotel......awesome team....on Beale Street. In Memphis - you want to stay here. Awesome breakfast, 24 hour pool....just a great place to stay. Within walking distance from all the shops, food, nightlife.....

Sincerely......The Neals from Minneapolis, MN

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tnealjefferson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,234
    548
    149
    32
    19
See reviews for
481
775
54
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The folks at the Beale Street Hampton Inn couldn't have been more accommodating. From Amanda (who lent me her GPS) to Jon at the front desk. They rounded up Gigi cupcakes for a surprise 20th anniversary and kept our meeting room in order. The is the second year we stayed there and looking forward to year 3.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveberry2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I can not say enough about how nice the staff is at this hotel. Rooms are clean and large. Breakfast was great. The only complaint is that the noise from Beale street will keep you up at night. They do have earplugs in a bowl at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooper12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Can't say enough about this place. Used points so the price was not an object (although I would say it is overpriced by what our friends paid) Great front desk staff on arival they up graded us to a suite on the back(quiet side)
Positives:
Great and clean bedroom, living area, and bathroom, Great staff, fast internet, super location to explore downtown Memphis and Beal St., Breakfast
Negatives:
Expensive parking, The rooms are suppose to be noisy on the other side of the hotel because of Beal St. (they even provide ear plugs in a big jar at the fronts desk) I I can not say if this is true since we stayed on the quiet side.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We went there to celebrate my husbands' 60th birthday, and we had a blast. The hotel is one of the cleanest we have ever stayed in, and the service was outstanding. They have the friendliest people in Memphis. We had the king suite on the fifth floor overlooking W. C. Handy park. We were a bit concerned that our balcony room would be way to noisy, but, hey, we were here for the music anyway, so what the heck. If you want quiet, then look for a hotel farther away from all the action. They provide you with earplugs, so that will tell you something. We arrived in the afternoon on a Saturday, and a fantastic band was playing in the park. The temperature was closing in on 100 degrees, so we opted to fix a cold drink, sit on the balcony and enjoy the music in the shade, slipping back into our cold suite once in a while to cool off. Now how cool is that! And...you have your own private bathroom which is very clean, instead of the dicey ones in the clubs along Beale. Did I mention that it was also alot cheaper making our own drinks in our own clean kitchen...now that was livin'! When we got hot enough we went for a dip in their pool, which I have to add was one of the cleanest we have seen also. The room was $255 but the entertainment our balcony provided us until the wee hours of the morning were priceless. Best place to people watch!! So, if you like to people watch, listen to great blues for free, make your own drinks and snacks, take a swim or sit in the hottub with your honey, walk to great restaurants and clubs, and do a little shopping all in a super safe, clean , friendly hotel, then this is the place...you won't be disappointed...unless you just don't want to hear loud music on weekends all afternoon until around 11p.m. I'm planning my next trip as we speak to that same exact room....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Akumalholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I would recommend this Hampton Inn for the security! You need your keycard to go almost anywhere including up the elevators. There is a security guard posted in the lobby at all times. I felt very safe staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melmofave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I could extol the values and virtues of this hotel for many paragraphs, but others seemed to have done that extensively. It is a very nice hotel for the Hampton Inn brand.

We checked in on Sunday, July 3rd, staying on HHonors points. I am a Diamond member and received an automatic upgrade to a suite. The suite has a small kitchenette with sink, stove, dishwasher, refrigerator and breakfast island. We didn't do any cooking, but the extra space was appreciated. The living area has a sofa bed and sitting chair. Off of the living room is a door to the balcony. Our suite had a 20 foot balcony facing 3rd street. Ask for a suite on the 3rd street side so you can see the little park where free music is usually playing.

The bedroom is through some French doors. Nicely appointed - well lit, excellent bedding. Nice bathroom fixtures, good amenities, a safe is available in the closet.

Okay, so lets talk about Beale street. Some will say that it is not for children, but the consideration is about the time of day. During the afternoon and early evening, it is quite fun to feel the atmosphere and walk down the street feeling the energy, listening to music, having a beer or cocktail. There are some funky shops with some sketchy merchandise but you have to exercise some careful monitoring of what your kids are looking at. Of course, as my teenage girls remind me - riding the school bus is pretty much R-rated, so there are no real shockers for your teens. Younger kids may have a tougher time understanding the open containers and selling alcohol through open windows on the sidewalk. After the sun goes down on weekends, they start to put up barriers and do full ID check and hand metal detector wand every body before entering the Beale Street area. This keeps things safe and secure, but the tone of the crowd starts to change about that time. I guess after a few drinks, it just feels different. There is a very strong police presence on Beale Street. I got the sense that they don't put up with any unruly behavior. They want people to have a good time, but not go too far.

About that time is when we headed back to the hotel. The Hampton has key entrance to the lobby and again to the elevators. This keeps the hotel very quiet. There are ear plugs at the front desk, but we didn't need them.

Now I will tell you about two different Beale Street experiences:
Sunday, July 3rd. Holiday weekend, good vibe, people having fun. Sun going down, security checkpoints in place, the party kicks in. We head to the room, enjoy the music from the balcony of the hotel and watch people having a good time. Things quiet down around 12 am and all is calm.

Monday, July 4th. The holiday atmosphere is kicking in. Beale Street has the same late afternoon / early evening vibe going on. As we finish dinner at B.B. Kings (we ate outdoors) we sense that there are a LOT of local kids pouring into the area. The security barricades and checkpoints were not in place - maybe because it was a Monday?? We went back to the hotel fairly quickly (always follow your instinct). After we got to the room and moved out to the balcony for a drink, somebody set off a firecracker / firework in the crowd. Teens started to scatter, and the police moved in quickly, but they continued to set off fireworks. The police immediately and effectively cleared Beale Street and put a "over 21" rule into effect. That calmed things down on Beale Street, but the 500 to 600 teens were now all milling about. The police worked very hard to subdue and control the crowd - but it took quite a long time and involved them pointing their cars at the crowd with the sirens on full blast, using bull horns to tell them to leave the area, subduing and handcuffing rowdy ring leaders and controlling the mayhem. My hats are off to the MPD - they knew exactly how to keep things cool and controlled without over-stepping their obligations.

I only write these two examples as a footnote to our experience and to let you know what you could face. I enjoyed my time on Beale Street and highly recommend the Hampton Inn & Suites. Adults - have fun and be safe. Parents - rethink a Beale Street visit for the under 10 kids. Pre-teens and teens can enjoy the atmosphere. Plus, Memphis has a LOT more to offer than just Beale Street.

Room Tip: If possible, upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ripwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
1,899 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Address: 175 Peabody Place, Memphis, TN 38103-3719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Family Hotel in Memphis
#7 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Memphis has to offer at the Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Beale Street hotel. We offer a variety of services and amenities with every stay. The Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Beale Street is located in the heart of the action within walking distance of shopping, dining and entertainment. Enjoy a variety of guestroom and suite options, complimentary WiFi and a Free Hot Breakfast each morning. Make the most of your stay in Memphis at the Hampton Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn And Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Hampton Inn Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing