We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What lovely helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday - on hearing this the hotel upgraded us to an Executive Suite, made him Guest of the Day and left a bottle of white wine on ice in our room.

The hotel itself isn't modern (thankfully) and some might say slightly worn, but the location and high level of service more than makes up for this - you even get a pillow menu!!!

The staff helped us book all our trips and of course Memphis itsef was wonderful - Sun and Stax Studios, Gracelands, Beale Street, the Gibson Guitar factory - we smiled from the moment we arrived and are still smiling now just thinking about it.

The whole trip was rounded off wonderfully when despite the hotel not offering airport transfers, a hotel driver took us to the airport simply because he was going that way!

Well done Mr Tabor and your lovely team - you have wonderful hotel. Hopefully we shall see you again one day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolly_Rooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2011

Thank you so much for this wonderful review of our hotel and of Memphis. We are glad that we were able to make your husband's birthday fun and that you both enjoyed your time at The Holiday Inn Select Downtown Memphis. We hope on your next trip to Memphis you will once again chose our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

882 - 888 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2011

Our stay here was great, we arrived early, so our room was not ready, and they would call us in an hour. We went for lunch at Heuy's, and when we got back to the Holiday Inn, our room was ready, they upgraded us to a suite, and two complimentary breakfast (off the menu) for both days we stayed. They provided ear plugs, as there ware sirens at night. Our hot water was not great the morning I had a shower, but I did mention it, and it seemed to be fine the next morning. The day we checked out, the elevator to the parkade, was not working very well, but Carl, and security tryed to do everything they could to get it going for us, and they finally got it going. We were leaving early, having a 10 hour drive ahead of us, so were waiting for the restaurant to open. The cook was there, but no server, so Carl brought us in, took our order, and gave it to the kitchen cook....Kudos to Carl for all his help. We would stay here again if we visit Memphis and want to be a short two block from the action on Beale Street.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xmasatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2011

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I will pass along to Carl your comments. You are right, he is one of our best employees. Always going the extra mile to help our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Just returned from an enjoyable weekend trip to Memphis. Contrary to other posters, we had nothing but positive interactions with the staff. They were all very friendly and willing to help. The location of the hotel is perfect. It's a property obviously built a while ago, and the bathrooms show it. The carpet was a bit stained, but the beds very comfortable and the room well cleaned each day. I would say the staff make up for an otherwise very ordinary hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPLSDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2011

Thank you for the review of our hotel and staff. We pride ourselves on Customer Service and exceeding the guest expectation. We hope that the next time your travel needs bring you to Memphis you will once again stay with The Holiday Inn Select Downtown Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

My collegues and myself stayed here last week. They stayed in 2 smoking rooms and I was in non-smoking. Our rooms were located on the 9th and 11th floors. If you want a hot shower in the morning, stay elsewhere. None of the 3 rooms had hot water in the mornings. The bathrooms had cracked sinks, grout missing and were not clean. Lighting was very poor for working or reading in the room. Waited for parking garage elevator for over 10 minutes. We finally had to carry our luggage up the stairs to load our vehicle.

On plus side, bed was very comfortable. Location was great for walking to many of the sites. We felt hotel was overpriced for what you got. You could stay at many other properties with better amenities for the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louisvillekaren2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

Thank you for the recent review of your stay. I apologize that our location fell below guest expectations while you were here. In reading your review of our hotel, I don't know if management was made aware of the issues that you describe. The staff and management take pride in our property and never want a guest to be unhappy during their stay. If you could contact me directly, I would like to find out a few more details. Again, I apologize for your inconvenience and look forward to hearing from you. Best Regards, Cindy Addison
cindy@hisdowntownmemphis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Hotel is in a great location - close to everything downtown - just a block or two from Beale Street. Hotel was very clean, and staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Our6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

Thank you for selecting our hotel during your most recent visit to Memphis. We appreciate your comments about our hotel cleanliness and friendly staff. We hope that on your next trip to our area you will once again select our location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

My husband and I visited Memphis during AfricanFest. I had researched the HI and was pleased with the accommodations. The rooms are very nice and the location was great for walking in the downtown area.
I tend to agree with many of the other reviewers, the hotel staff could use some more people skills. The front staff was slow and seemed to get irritated when I asked what the hold up was. I had a mess at check-in trying to get the rate I booked from the Internet. (Luckly I had printed a copy of the info from the internet--and that helped--since the hotel'sinternet wasn't working) Overall the trip was good. We enjoyed our stay and I plan to stay again during our 2011 family reunion. Tell your staff--honey attracts bees, not vinegar.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reesiecup67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2011

Thank you for your comments about our hotel and for visiting Memphis during the Africa in April Cultural Awareness Festival that was held 9 months ago in April, 2010. I apologize that your check in at the hotel did not go smoothly. I was able to review our guest log books for the dates in April that the Festival was held, April 16th - 18th, 2010. I did not find any guest comments on poor internet service, so I again apologize that you had difficulty with that complimentary amenity at our hotel. I see in your review that your family reunion will be held in Memphis in 2011. I hope that you give our hotel and staff another chance to exceed your expections.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

It's a block from Beale across from the beautiful Peabody Hotel. Renovations are great- it's much cleaner and has a better layout than before. Parking was easy- pull right up, check in, get your key and self park. Now parking is expensive ($12/day) but that's normal for downtown Memphis. We didn't try the restaurant/bar cuz it was closed at 10 pm on Friday night, but it looks very nice. Booked a room w/ King bed and that's what we got. Probably really cool in the summer for the rooftop pool.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cougarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2010

Thank you for writing this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to accommodating to your needs. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 138 in Memphis
877 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $160 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing