We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #32 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

Our daughter, her two year old, and I visited this hotel on Union Street. We were greeted with an efficient, warm hospitable southern charm. The front desk, the restraurant staff, the cleaning people, and the bell hop, were all very welcoming. Our room was very clean and cool in the 102 degree temperature days. I chose the hotel because of location. We enjoyed the trolley, the National Civil Rights Museum, the Arcade Restraurant, Beale Street. The Hard Rock Cafe, Hueys, and the delicious hot breakfasts at the hotel. It was a short drive to Graceland too. Our daughter and I both will recommend the Holiday Inn on Union Ave. to our friends and family.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank VivianaMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    411
    258
    104
    48
See reviews for
188
422
49
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Skagway, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2007

Big City. Finding our way around was easy once we drove in circles a bit! Basically we were in town for the Blues! We drove past many highrise hotels- very nice, all of them. We ended up with Holiday select. They gave us a rate of 179.00.... this by the way was the lowest we could negotiate with or without AAA. OK, place was in great proximity to River, Beale St, Trolley, Across the street from the Peabody, Horse drawn carriages parked out front, Lots of shopping and on the same alley as the Rendezvous rib joint. (Known for their dry rub ribs...EXCELLENT and worth the wait)
The hotel was gorgeous. Had restaurant and bar, business center. Staff was very friendly, and offered ideas of what to do while visiting. To us it was obvious that customer service was a high priority.
The garage parking was secure and watched 24 hrs. It was not included in the rate. The nights charge was $10.
The pool was visible from our room on the 10th floor. Looked so refreshing! The room was really nice. Granite counter in the bathroom, beautiful tile, carpet was immaculent. Room was spacious. AC was excellent. Drapes were light blocking and sheers allowed some. Breakfast was not included but could be had for around $6 per person. We walked to Beale street and came home the same way. We felt safe walking and there were many others doing the same.

  • Liked — proximity to Beale Street, staff, cleanliness
  • Disliked — No hospitality room (not even coffee in the lobby), charged parking fee that was comparable to lots in surrounding area.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TruMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2007

We selected this hotel to be close to Beale Street. The location was great and our room was right opposite the Peabody. What we didn't expect was the noise from the main road which kept us awake, but the view was lovely. The bedlinen required replacement and didn't fit the bed and the bathroom was disappointing in its size. However, overall the rooms were clean.

The breakfast was good value and children eat free. I preferred the Holiday inn breakfast to that of Denny's next door.

The Hotel staff were extremely friendly and assisted us in our travel plans.

I would recommend this hotel for its location, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Liked — Location to Beale Street and other attractions
  • Disliked — Poor quality bedlinen and small bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank crogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2007

I only stayed here because of the excellent state government rate ($83) offered for the one night while in town. I really did not have many high expectations with this hotel since Holiday Inn (in my opinion) is a crap chain from the 50s anyway. The front desk was friendly and they allowed me to check-in at 1:00 PM. Parking was $10/day inside the hotel garage which appeared to be pretty secure even for a Downtown area. If you must stay here, make sure to unload your luggage on the ground level because if you go to the 2nd or 3rd floor to park the SERVICE elevator is the only elevator to use and it is VERY slow . . . especially if your room is on the 12th floor. The lobby was colorful and appeared to have been recently renovated. However, the rooms appear to need a major overhaul. The bathroom was nasty. I found long hairs all over the floor, on the back rim of the toilet, rolled up in the tub mat and inside the tub itself. I began to think about what could be on the floor in the sleeping area not visible to the eye since the carpeting was orange/red. The room really appeared to be something from the Brady Bunch era. I am not kidding! The décor just was not my cup of tea. The mattress was not comfortable, but okay. I will say okay since I did not wake up with back pain. The room had a sitting chair with ottoman, a work desk with chair and color television with a remote that did not properly work and a restaurant on site which I did not go to. There was no noise from the hallway at night, but the windows were not sound proof. Therefore, be prepared to wake up in the middle of the night by the loud sounds of mufflers, trucks, etc. going down 2nd street. My request for a room with a view was granted, but it was of the back of the hotel, First Tennessee bank and a section of 2nd street. I am sure The Peabody side view was better. As for the Peabody (which is directly across the street), no trip to Memphis is complete without a trip to the famous Peabody Hotel. Make sure you see the famous ducks. And if you have the funds, I would stay there just once. I thought about it, but ended up canceling just to save money for other things on my trip. Now I am thinking I should have taken the plunge and stayed at the Peabody Hotel. If I return to Memphis, I do not plan on staying at the Holiday Inn because the place made me feel somewhat unclean, dirty. The plus side is the location of the hotel since it is in a tourist area with security/police very visible and visitor consultants on street corners ready to help with any questions tourists have about the city. I felt safe around my location and had NO problems with hustlers asking for money. Beale Street is just a couple blocks away, Peabody Place shopping center (nothing to rave about) is about a block away. FedEx Forum, the new baseball stadium and the Rock ‘n Soul Museum are all close by. Downtown Memphis turned out to be a great experience and would highly recommend it to any family, older travelers, a single person, etc. Elvis’ Graceland is just about 20 minutes away. Just try to stay away from the Holiday Inn in Downtown Memphis. It needs to be razed and rebuilt.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty bathroom with large hairs all over the place
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ILUVDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Bristoluk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2007

Our first Trip to Memphis , The hotel was excellent , Brilliant location good service clean .
The pool is good along with the fitness room ( you,ll need to use this to keep off weight gain from the ribs ! )

The bar is a bit more expensive than others but you would expect that any way


Try the Rendevous restaurant round the back of the hotel excellent for ribs

My wife did have concerns over walking around late at night but its ok

Beale street , Sun studios both walking distance and absolutly brilliant
Best Place Graceland get the VIP Pass its worth it , there is a shuttle bus from grace land to sun studios so no need for a taxi !

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2007

This hotel has a great location, easy to walk to virtually everything apart from Graceland in around 30 mins. Sun studios is walkable and is probably as far as you will walk.

Rooms were clean and tidy, could hear some street noise but this was mainly due to the worlds population of Harley riders going to a new biker bar opening!

Bathrooms a little on the small side but very usable.

All in all a great place to stay and explore memphis, would definately stay again.

  • Liked — Location was great and staff were really friendly
  • Disliked — pool had been drained and it was hot!!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sal_UKUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

Location, Location, Location. You could not get a better location to check out downtown Memphis. Beale Street, The Peabody, The Mississippi River, Mud Island, The FexEx Fourm, just about all of Memphis' downtown attractions were within walking distance to this hotel. Lots of great restaurants were nearby as well.

HOWEVER, The Holiday Inn Select was missing in some serious Southern Charm. Service was practically not existant at this hotel. We checked in at 3pm on a Friday - along with about 20 other guests with booked reservations - and there was ONE person working at the registration desk. Correction, there were two people, but only one person was doing anything. I'm not sure if person number two was in training or what, but he literally stood behind the working woman and watched what she did, while doing NOTHING. The woman who checked us in was nice enough, but clearly stressed with the long line of growing impatient guests in front of her. However, she did not request help or anything. One would think they'd put more than one person on the desk at prime weekend check in time. They had a wedding booked - and clearly were expecting all of us, since everyone in line had a reservation.

Once we were in our room - it was comfy and clean enough. We didn't spend too much time in our room since we were out exploring all the nearby atttractions. The room was rather LOUD, but I guess since we were so centrally located, that was to be expected. But we could hear all sorts of street noise, hallway noise, etc. If you are a light sleeper, this might not be the hotel for you.

We stayed for three nights, four days. The 2nd night / 3rd day of our stay, our room was not cleaned at all. As I said, we were gone for most of the day - and did not have the "privacy' tag on our door or anything - and when we returned late in the evening ready to go to bed, we found that nothing had been cleaned. However, it did seem that someone had been in our room, because the air conditioning was blasting, and we did not leave that on before we left. It was not the end of the world - we were ok sleeping in un-made beds, but it just emphasized the lack of service. There could have been in a problem with towels, since the room only came with two small bath sized towels, and they were still wet from the day before - but luckily the cleaning crew had left their cart in the hallway and we were able to grab a couple of towels off of that for our morning showers.

So all in all - if you get a great rate, you're not going to spend a lot of time in your hotel room, are a heavy sleeper, and do not demand a great deal of customer service - this is the perfect hotel. It really is in wonderful location to explore Memphis. That said, there are lots of hotels downtown, and next time we're in Memphis, we will make a reservation in a different hotel.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Poor Service.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank janfrompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Property: Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing