We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #41 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Centrally located. We walked everywhere. No charge to park. Rooms were roomy and the beds were very good.
Could not find one thing wrong with this stay!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homebody65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2009

This hotel represents the best of Holiday inn - a great location, clean hotel, friendly staff - without a lot off foo-foo that costs more but does not give you anything. You can walk anywhere downtown, the parking is secure, and the staff was attentive. The renovated rooms gave the feeling of being in a newly opened property. I always stay here when I come to town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fastrunnerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

This is a very good hotel for the money: close to Beale Street and the River, it's easy to walk everywhere; the breakfast buffet is excellent; the rooms are absolutely fine (even with two children in there too); and the staff are friendly enough. There is noise at night (so take earplugs), but what else would you expect in a busy city centre? We really enjoyed Memphis, and the more so, because the hotel was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This hotel is way over priced, it is very old, bathrooms are tiny, mattresses are very old, tv's are very old, no parking, tons of street noise, room comes with earplugs! Hotel staff was rude, we got bed bug bites all over us and were charged full price. You will regret the day you ever though staying here was a good idea.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wdtgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2009

The Holiday Inn Select Downtown takes this type of complaint seriously. Upon receipt of this issue, our General Manager had Orkin Pest Control come to the hotel and do a complete inspection of the hotel guest room, bedding, linen, carpet, and furniture. When inspection was completed Orkin, through written and verbal communication, has reported no such findings of Bed bugs or bug fecial matter. The Holiday Inn Select Downtown continues to meet and exceed customer expectations on a daily basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

I stayed in the Holiday Inn Select with 3 of my girlfriends for girls night out. We had a great room that overlooked the Peabody Hotel, very nice!! We checked around 5pm and our room was ready. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We asked what restaurants were good for dinner and they offered a lot of suggestions. Everyone said hello and asked how we were doing, which was nice. The hotel is in the middle of everything you can do in Memphis, we never even took the car out of the garage cause you could walk everywhere you wanted. We walked to Beale Street and had a great time!! The beds were comfortable and we had free internet, which is a plus now a days. The bathroom was kind of small but otherwise fine. I would really recommend staying at this hotel while in Memphis, we had no problems and had a great time!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trublue00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

My husband and I came to Memphis for the weekend and wanted to stay downtown where we understood was a great place to stay. We chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Select Downtown and what a great choice it was. The hotel is located in downtown Memphis, not far from Beale Street. It's only about 2 blocks which was no big deal to us because we like to walk. The front desk was very friendly, asked what the purpose of our stay was and gave us great information regarding tourist attractions, restaurants, etc. Each and very time we went by the desk, the staff was always very friendly. We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant and the staff in there was always pleasant too! Our room was very nice, bathroom small, but I guess that's what you get with an older hotel. Overall we enjoyed our stay in Memphis and at the hotel. We will definitely be back and will recommend the hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g8trfan4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

my company puts us here for layovers so my review is based on the quality of sleep and quiet that the hotel offered--not much. The bed was comfy and the room would have been quiet if it hadn't been for the AMAZING amount of street noise there was. Motorcycles, police sirens, fire engines, and oh the all night revelers!! It didn't stop. I wore earplugs too. This would be a great place to stay if you are in Memphis to party. wouldn't stay here if you want to sleep--at least not in the summer on a Sat night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbiflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#3 of 139 in Memphis
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#10 of 139 in Memphis
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $148 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing