We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL, GREAT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #31 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL, GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We are from England and have stayed at this hotel for the past 8 years. We love it. It is very close to Beale Street (the best street in the world) and close to the transport to Graceland. For music and Elvis fans, this is a prime location. The rooms are spacious and cleaned every day. The staff are always friendly and extremely helpul. Yes, they are undegoing some refurbishment, but it has not detracted from our most enjoyable stay. We are already booking for next year. Thank you Holiday Inn Union Avenue. Shame, not seen the ghost of Elvis down Union Avenue yet.

Room Tip: Never had a problem with the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us every year for the past 8 years. We appreciate your loyalty and are happy you continue to enjoy our wonderful city and hotel, not only for the great location, but for the staff and amenities our hotel provides. Thank you for staying with us and although you haven't seen the ghost of Elvis down Union Avenue yet, his spirit is always being celebrated here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    427
    271
    108
    50
See reviews for
199
448
50
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dickinson, Texas, USA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is located next to the baseball stadium and about two blocks from Beale St.. The rom we were in, 1150 is very noisy since its located behind a bank of elevators and all we could hear was the cables moving all night. Staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Guests often comment about how conveniently located our hotel is to the many downtown attractions, so it pleases us that you enjoyed this about our hotel as well! Your comments regarding the noise you experienced will be shared with the the engineering department. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

You couldn't pay me to ever stay in this hotel (let alone go to Memphis). It was so dirty that we wouldn't shower. The best part....we found a huge piece of glass in our scrambled eggs (aka the free breakfast which looked yummy at first sight). We pointed it out to the staff who could care less. What did they do about it? Nothing!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDSpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I apologize for your inconvenience; however, we have no record of any reports of glass being found in eggs, nor do we offer a free breakfast at our hotel. Did you speak with a manager? I feel confident if you brought this to a managers attention at our hotel, it would have been resolved immediately. I'm wondering if you have the correct hotel. Regardless, it seems like the hotel and Memphis did not meet your expectations, and for that I apologize. I hope you consider visiting Memphis again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel had received some bad reviews, but it's location lured me into staying there. I was not disappointed. The hotel staff is very friendly, starting with the valet staff, who we met first. The front desk was friendly and quick. The hotel room was nice and very clean. The breakfast buffet was very good. The housekeepers, and maintainence workers did a great job. All in all, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krnschmhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for selecting our hotel. We are very happy that our hotel and staff exceeded your expectations. Your comments regarding the friendly service, quality of breakfast, cleanliness and comfort of the rooms will be shared with our entire staff. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you will come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ok, it is currently being renovated but still has a long way to go. The first room they gave us had an adjoining wall with the lift shaft!! It was so noisy we ended up shifting rooms, they staff were really good about it but they probably shouldn't use these rooms if the hotel is not at maximum capacity. Location is fantastic but rooms are tired.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woo_Yowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you staying with us and are happy you enjoyed our great location. Your patience is also appreciated as we are making improvements to our hotel. Your comments will be shared with our staff. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The rooms were noise. You could heard every time someone entered their room. The toilets run all night. The bed was terrible. The mattresses need to be replaced. The room was way overpriced for what you received, and I am a rewards club member. We were on the 14 th floor and the traffic noise sounded like it was right outside our window!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience. I apologize that you found the room noisy and that the comfort of our bed did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you staying with us and apologize for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Let me start with the positive-location is the best thing about it. We were there for a Red Birds ball game and it is a very short walk from auto zone park. That's about the best thing I can say other than the staff was pleasant. The over all appearance of the hotel inside and out needs work. They have signs that say they are under renovation and they have a long way to go before I will stay there again. The bathroom was so tiny and dirty I was almost afraid to even take a shower. Towels are yellow and did not smell pleasant at all. I could go on and on but all I can say is try somewhere else

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you staying with us while in town for the Redbirds game. I apologize as it seems that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Did you contact anyone regarding your issue with your towels? I feel certain if what you say is accurate, and you contacted our staff, they would have resolved your issue immediately. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 138 in Memphis
861 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Property: Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing