We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is located next to the baseball stadium and about two blocks from Beale St.. The rom we were in, 1150 is very noisy since its located behind a bank of elevators and all we could hear was the cables moving all night. Staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Guests often comment about how conveniently located our hotel is to the many downtown attractions, so it pleases us that you enjoyed this about our hotel as well! Your comments regarding the noise you experienced will be shared with the the engineering department. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

You couldn't pay me to ever stay in this hotel (let alone go to Memphis). It was so dirty that we wouldn't shower. The best part....we found a huge piece of glass in our scrambled eggs (aka the free breakfast which looked yummy at first sight). We pointed it out to the staff who could care less. What did they do about it? Nothing!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDSpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and I apologize for your inconvenience; however, we have no record of any reports of glass being found in eggs, nor do we offer a free breakfast at our hotel. Did you speak with a manager? I feel confident if you brought this to a managers attention at our hotel, it would have been resolved immediately. I'm wondering if you have the correct hotel. Regardless, it seems like the hotel and Memphis did not meet your expectations, and for that I apologize. I hope you consider visiting Memphis again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel had received some bad reviews, but it's location lured me into staying there. I was not disappointed. The hotel staff is very friendly, starting with the valet staff, who we met first. The front desk was friendly and quick. The hotel room was nice and very clean. The breakfast buffet was very good. The housekeepers, and maintainence workers did a great job. All in all, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krnschmhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for selecting our hotel. We are very happy that our hotel and staff exceeded your expectations. Your comments regarding the friendly service, quality of breakfast, cleanliness and comfort of the rooms will be shared with our entire staff. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you will come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ok, it is currently being renovated but still has a long way to go. The first room they gave us had an adjoining wall with the lift shaft!! It was so noisy we ended up shifting rooms, they staff were really good about it but they probably shouldn't use these rooms if the hotel is not at maximum capacity. Location is fantastic but rooms are tired.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woo_Yowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you staying with us and are happy you enjoyed our great location. Your patience is also appreciated as we are making improvements to our hotel. Your comments will be shared with our staff. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The rooms were noise. You could heard every time someone entered their room. The toilets run all night. The bed was terrible. The mattresses need to be replaced. The room was way overpriced for what you received, and I am a rewards club member. We were on the 14 th floor and the traffic noise sounded like it was right outside our window!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience. I apologize that you found the room noisy and that the comfort of our bed did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you staying with us and apologize for any inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Let me start with the positive-location is the best thing about it. We were there for a Red Birds ball game and it is a very short walk from auto zone park. That's about the best thing I can say other than the staff was pleasant. The over all appearance of the hotel inside and out needs work. They have signs that say they are under renovation and they have a long way to go before I will stay there again. The bathroom was so tiny and dirty I was almost afraid to even take a shower. Towels are yellow and did not smell pleasant at all. I could go on and on but all I can say is try somewhere else

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you staying with us while in town for the Redbirds game. I apologize as it seems that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Did you contact anyone regarding your issue with your towels? I feel certain if what you say is accurate, and you contacted our staff, they would have resolved your issue immediately. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is so bad, I don't know where to begin. Starting with the lobby that smells like cigarette smoke and or sweat to the rickety elevators and the rooms that haven't been updated in maybe 30 years, there are very few redeeming qualities to this hotel. My room was next to the elevators (despite requesting a preference against this twice), and the room literally shook every time the elevators passed by. In addition, the flush in the bathroom was broken. The parking garage looks like a dungeon, and its very hard to figure out how to get to it once you are in the hotel. Elevators take forever to show up. Ugh!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yosoyamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to try to accommodate guest requests; however, it is not always possible due to lack of availability and sometimes we are unable to honor guest requests. Your comments will be shared with the management team so we can determine if more signage if necessary to help direct guests to and from our parking garage. Also, did you alert the front desk regarding your issue with the bathroom? If so, I am confident that was taken care of for you immediately. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#10 of 138 in Memphis
877 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $160 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing