We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just Don't”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Let me start with the positive-location is the best thing about it. We were there for a Red Birds ball game and it is a very short walk from auto zone park. That's about the best thing I can say other than the staff was pleasant. The over all appearance of the hotel inside and out needs work. They have signs that say they are under renovation and they have a long way to go before I will stay there again. The bathroom was so tiny and dirty I was almost afraid to even take a shower. Towels are yellow and did not smell pleasant at all. I could go on and on but all I can say is try somewhere else

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you staying with us while in town for the Redbirds game. I apologize as it seems that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Did you contact anyone regarding your issue with your towels? I feel certain if what you say is accurate, and you contacted our staff, they would have resolved your issue immediately. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    426
    269
    108
    50
See reviews for
196
447
50
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is so bad, I don't know where to begin. Starting with the lobby that smells like cigarette smoke and or sweat to the rickety elevators and the rooms that haven't been updated in maybe 30 years, there are very few redeeming qualities to this hotel. My room was next to the elevators (despite requesting a preference against this twice), and the room literally shook every time the elevators passed by. In addition, the flush in the bathroom was broken. The parking garage looks like a dungeon, and its very hard to figure out how to get to it once you are in the hotel. Elevators take forever to show up. Ugh!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yosoyamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to try to accommodate guest requests; however, it is not always possible due to lack of availability and sometimes we are unable to honor guest requests. Your comments will be shared with the management team so we can determine if more signage if necessary to help direct guests to and from our parking garage. Also, did you alert the front desk regarding your issue with the bathroom? If so, I am confident that was taken care of for you immediately. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is an older hotel that seems to be slowly undergoing renovation, but its best feature is the downtown location near Beale Street and music/museum attractions. The room was comfortable and the staff was friendly. Even though the hotel is on a busy street, noise was not a problem for our fourth-floor room. We went across the street to see the duck parade at the Peabody Hotel and ate ribs at Rendezvous next door. The hotel restaurant has a great buffet for breakfast. Spaces are little tight in the parking garage, but that's to be expected for an older downtown facility. I would have no qualms about staying here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others. It sounds like you enjoyed our location, our comfortable rooms and our friendly staff. A trip to Memphis is not complete without visiting the world famous Rendezvous Restaurant next door. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel was the perfect vacation stay. It is near wonderful restaurants (right down the alley from Charlie's Rendezvous and across the street from Huey's). It is directly across the street from the Peabody hotel which we loved for the Duck March and the shopping. This was a clean hotel with friendly staff. It is within walking distance to many attractions, especially Beale Street so ideal for those late night strolls home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at our Holiday Inn Downtown Memphis. There's nothing better than knowing we were a part of your perfect vacation and you found our hotel location desirable, accommodations clean, and experienced southern hospitality from our staff. Thank you for staying with us and providing us great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spent 5 nights here early June 2013 as part of a musical pilgrimage to Memphis and Nashville. On the whole I would describe the experience as "OK".

The hotel is in an excellent location, so for example, the walk to Beale Street is only 5 minutes. The hotel itself is undergoing refurbishment, but not sure where exactly this is taking place as I didn't see any evidence of it. Why do I think it's an "OK" rather than a "GOOD" - well it's a bit shabby in place, bits are falling off the fixtures and fittings in the bathroom, the lift is a mystery with a mind of it's own (I rather thought that this aspect was a feature!), the staff are "corporately pleasant" rather than genuinely helpful.

The bedroom was fine, good beds, even as a road facing room it was quiet.

We didn't use the restaurant or the pool, but we did use the car park. Don't opt for valet parking which is an extra on top of the fee, as it is very straight-forward.

Try Huey's across the road for a drink, friendly with a good range of local beers, Automatic Slims for a great sandwich and 2.50 dollar bloody mary, and the excellent Blue Plate Cafe for breakfast.

Would I go back? Probably as it was OK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridler36man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your staying with us during your Memphis trip. We are happy you found our location convenient to all the area attractions, that our comfortable beds met your satisfaction, and your room was quiet. We do offer valet parking for $3 additional for those who would like that option, but unlike some other hotels in the area, it is not mandatory. We are currently renovating the hotel one floor at a time, so we are happy that you saw no evidence of the construction and that you were not disturbed or inconvenienced during your time with us. Maybe next time you will be able to take advantage of our restaurant and our outdoor terrace pool. We apologize if you felt our staff was not genuinely sincere in responding to your needs, and we will address this with our front desk staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel was under renovation and going to be very nice when completed. We had a great room and location was incredible! Walking distance to Beale street, about 3 blocks, and lots of window shopping along the way. Jeremey at front desk was very polite, professional and knowledgeable. Hotel just across street from Peabody hotel and a walk thru Peabody is a must. Shopping there is great as well, if you have time. But the Holiday Inn rooms are very spacious and comfortable. I would stay there again. Great bang for the bucks!

Room Tip: higher up, quieter from road noise. We stayed on 5th floor and it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and your recommendation of our Holiday Inn Downtown Memphis! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel accommodations and location! I will be sure to share your comments regarding our front desk staff with the department manager. Please come back and stay with us again to conveniently enjoy the entertainment Memphis has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our local Harley Owner Group traveled down to Bike's on Beale on July 3rd. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Select on Union. It was the perfect location, an easy three block walk to Beale St. The staff was phenomenal as well. From the group booking arrangements to the stay, the entire stay was fantastic. They even accomodated our request for a block of rooms on the same floor. I would highly recommend this hotel.

One of the best experiences I have had at a hotel in a long time. If you are traveling down as a group, Give Cindi or her staff a call. They will take great care of you.

Room Tip: The pool is on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCamT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and your recommendation of our property. It's always nice to hear how much someone enjoys our hotel, staff, and location! You should come back again for Bike Night on Beale! Glad you enjoyed your time in Memphis. Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure working with you on your group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
853 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Property: Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing