We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #29 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Okay overall but this place is in need of some long outstanding "TLC". The sign in our bedroom stated the hotel was being updated but we never spotted exactly where. Plumbing pipes in our room would occasionally rattle but the room itself was still comfortable although somewhat tired looking. Did not think the continental breakfast offered good value for the money.

Room Tip: The furthest away lift sometimes had a mind of it's own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairbanksSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Memphis. We appreciate your business and thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. We are happy to announce that we are in the beginning stages of a renovation. Your comments regarding breakfast have been shared with our management staff. Again, we appreciate you staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is getting a face-lift, I fully support this, however, there should be some indication of this before booking. Either in a note on the website (telling people via phone booking) or as a red-flag in the price being significantly lower than those hotels in the same location. The Holiday Inn Memphis Downtown was charging full price, competitive pricing with other local hotels and yet fully under construction. Signs everywhere "excuse our dust" and the elevator to the parking garage not working (you may valet for $3 more or climb 2-3 flights of stairs). The parking price is very high. At 9am the hammering/banging starts; toilets run sporadically all night, pipes sound as if water is running through them consistently through-out the day and night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICHELLE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Our renovation is in the beginning phase and we will be working on one floor at a time in order not to disrupt our guests. In regards to our parking charges, if you research I am certain that you will find our prices are competitive to the other hotels in the downtown area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here over the Easter weekend. The staff was very friendly and professional. The location was great. Holly in the bar was great in her recommendation for a nice dinner. Rooms were quite, beds were comfortable, bathrooms were nice with great showers and super hot water. Will come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your Easter holiday. Your comments regarding your experience with Holly have been shared with our Food and Beverage Director. I'm happy she was able to assist you during your visit. Please come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a AAA rate. did not get a free upgrade despite platinum membership, must have been a busy weekend. Rate did include buffet breakfast for two which was a nice surprise not listed in the room description when booking through the Priority Club app. The waffles were amazing!

Parking here for $15/day is a bargain considering how good the location is. We didn't get our car out once until we checked out.

My only complaint is of another guest smoking in the hallway, when the entire property is non-smoking.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dallas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business and also want to thank you for being an IHG Priority Club Member. Because we were unable to provide with a complimentary room upgrade, and as a thank you to our Platnum PC Member, we provided breakfast, and it sounds like you enjoyed it! We apologize that another guest of the hotel was smoking in our non-smoking hotel and hope you reported this to the manager on duty. Thank you again for staying with us! Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just spent a weekend at Holiday Inn Select Downtown (Beale Street). Hotel is very convenient to Beale Street, Peabody, FedEx Forum, Lorraine Hotel, park along the riverfront (perfect for early morning walk/run) and other points of interest. So location of the hotel itself is fine, but be very cautious of your room location within the hotel! Our room was located adjacent to the bank of elevators and we were awakened at 4 a.m. by what sounded like huge garbage cans being trundled over rough pavement. Finally figured out it was the elevators, and it started about that time every morning. They were VERY loud. Also the ice/vending station is located right along the main hallway, which had to be noisy for those in the room right across from it. Other than that, it was clean and the staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: Be sure it's not near elevators or ice/vending machines!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aburarcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. I am happy that you found our hotel to be very convenient to Beale Street, Peabody, FedEx Forum, and many other Memphis attractions. After reading your concerns regarding elevator noise, I forwarded your comments to our cheif engineer so he can investigate further. We value your feedback and appreciate your comments. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived early but the staff got us a worthy room a bit early as well. Parking was safe and secure. Location was fine. We will stay there again. Room was clean and quiet. Rendezvous BBQ is right around the corner!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel and accommodations. Please contact me when you are ready to come back to Memphis. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great location to everything Memphis. The rooms definitely need an upgrade. The hotel staff could not have been friendlier. We arrived WAY early and there was a room available. So nice.
Easy walk to everything - The Peabody Hotel, the Trolley, Beale Street.
Would recommend the hotel for the location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnpapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you staying with us while visiting Memphis. It was our pleasure to accommodate your early check in at the hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location as much as we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 138 in Memphis
888 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $156 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing