We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good value for the price we paid but basic. Bed very comfy. Bathroom was clean. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Great that there is free wi if in the room. Real shame that there is no safe in the room especially as we came back one day and our door had been left propped open. Staff were very apologetic. Really cannot beat the location with nice places to eat within walking distance and only a ten min walk straight up the road to the Stax museum who do a free bus to Graceland. For the price we paid hotel was better than we expected.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank AnnieL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank your for staying with us! We appreciate your business and value your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel accommodations and staff. I'm glad you found our location to be convenient to the local sites and restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Happened upon this hotel while traveling through Memphis. Unfortunately the room was messy (dirty bathroom floors, ugly gross caulking in shower). Elevators in need of repair (broken buttons, duct tape throughout), and front desk not very attentive. This was not a good value and if not for the location would not have stayed here.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I have forwarded your concerns to the appropriate departments and apologize if you felt our hotel was not a good value. We would appreciate if you could provide specific details about your stay with us. You can reach the front office manager at 901-525-5491.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The bathroom was dirty. Dingy walls with hairs left in the tub. Each of the double beds had 4 pillows however 3 on each bed were flat and hard. The noise from the street was pretty loud as well. On a positive note the woman at the front desk was very helpful and nice when I'd forgot my toiletries early the first morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abcjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I appreciate your feeback and if you would like to share additional details regarding your stay with us, I will be happy to pass along the information to our executive housekeeper. On another note, it is our pleasure to assist our guests with toiletry items when needed. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our hotel in Memphis was a nice one. Again valet parking. But we were very close to the center of the city. Bealestreet was about 150 meters from the hotel.
The staff was friendly. The breakfast is very good. Everything yoy need you can find it in this hotel. The SUN studio's are on walking distance.

Room Tip: I have no tips.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel staff, amenities and location. Valet parking is a new feature at our hotel, and it's nice to get your feedback. We appreciate you staying with us during your visit to Memphis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hotel staff very friendly and courteous.
Room was very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast at the hotel restaurent was excellent value.
Bathrooms could have been larger to accomadate more than one person.

Room Tip: If possible obtain room facing Union Ave which is the main street where other hotels and restaurants...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfmiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us and taking time to tell others about our hotel amenities, the value of our restaurant breakfast, and your experience with our staff. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We enjoyed our executive king room at the Holiday Inn Select. It was comfortably furnished and spacious. The bathroom was a bit small, but it was clean and well maintained. When we first arrived the reservation system was down. We were provided with a free drink coupon for the bar while the staff worked to implement a manual system. Some of the elevators were undergoing maintenance, so there was an occasional wait during busy periods. Valet parking is $18 while self parking is $15. The hotel is a few blocks walk from Beale Street and near a tram stop. There are lots of restaurants in the immediate area, including some of Memphis' best. The Peabody Hotel is just across the street with its famous ducks. Definitely a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a quiet room away from elevators and ice machines. We found the ice cooler tha...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments, and we're glad to know you enjoyed your executive king room. Valet parking is a new feature of the hotel, and hopefully you took advantage of this new service. Again we appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Friendly staff and excellent location right in the heart of downtown. Breakfast service was quite slow ordering from the menu, but there's a buffet which is fairly expensive in my opinion and not included in room rate. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Get a room as far away from the pool as possible. The pump is VERY noisy! I asked to have it turned off at night four times and was told that it would be but it was left on every time. Eventually just moved rooms to a higher floor. Good gym facilities. Beds are comfortable.The lifts are still a bit dodgy and have been for the last 5 years apparently.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the pool as possible!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakeFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Memphis. We appreciate your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel location and found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. Your additional feedback regarding the restaurant service time and the pool pump will be shared with the approporiate department managers. Again, we appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#10 of 138 in Memphis
877 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $160 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing