We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, service could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #32 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
London, UK
2 reviews
“Excellent location, service could be better.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Friendly staff and excellent location right in the heart of downtown. Breakfast service was quite slow ordering from the menu, but there's a buffet which is fairly expensive in my opinion and not included in room rate. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Get a room as far away from the pool as possible. The pump is VERY noisy! I asked to have it turned off at night four times and was told that it would be but it was left on every time. Eventually just moved rooms to a higher floor. Good gym facilities. Beds are comfortable.The lifts are still a bit dodgy and have been for the last 5 years apparently.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the pool as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Memphis. We appreciate your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel location and found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. Your additional feedback regarding the restaurant service time and the pool pump will be shared with the approporiate department managers. Again, we appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    420
    265
    106
    50
See reviews for
191
437
49
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I were on a coach tour of the Southern States and stayed at this hotel for two nights and we found it to be very comfortable and a great location. Hospitality was excellent, we were greeted on arrival with coffee and cookies!. The hotel is only a short walk from the celebrated Beale Street and there is plenty of bars and restaurants there plus fantastic entertainment to keep the most discerning traveller happy. I was recommended The Rendezvous Restaurant neaby but unfortunately it was closed on the nights of our stay. The Peabody Hotel is right opposite and is an absolutely stunning hotel for it's ambience and old world charm, not to mention the unique Parade of Ducks, so well worth a quick visit. We enjoyed a circular ride around 'downtown' on the tram - a stop is nearby the hotel and it's a very cheap trip..We also thoroughly enjoyed our visits to the Sun Recording Studio and the fabulous Gracelands which are within easy reach. I would recommend the Holiday Inn Select to anyone wanting a clean, friendly base on a visit to Memphis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you and your wife staying with us while visiting Memphis and the southern states. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all the great attractions and restaurants the area has to offer as well as the southern hospitality you received for being our guest at the Holiday Inn Select Downtown Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is somewhat shabby, but clean. They are renovating the elevators as of 3/13. Convenient to many downtown attractions. We found a placard in our room where you filled out your breakfast order and they delivered it to your room at the specified time. We tried two nights, hanging it on our door knob in the evening as directed, but no one ever picked it up or delivered our order. Not a big deal as a restaurant is in the lobby, but would have been an appreciated service.
Make sure to watch the Peabody ducks march at the hotel across the street, and get a burger at Hueys!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you staying with us. On behalf of the staff, I apologize for the oversight regarding the delivery of your breakfast while you were here. I have shared this information with the restaurant manager. Please let me know when you come and visit Memphis again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a great hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, it is just a short walk to Beale street and there are some great restaurants close by. We had a few drinks down at the bar and met some really great people. The room wasn't anything fancy but it was clean and that's all that matters. They do a good cheap buffet breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinFaeWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy you found our hotel to be convenient to the Memphis attractions and hope you had a great time walking on Beale. It pleases me that your experience with our hotel staff was pleasant and that you enjoyed the hotel bar and restaurant! Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Over the top customer service.... This is the best hotel experience I've ever had.. If you're interested in a fabulous time and a clean hotel. Gotta stay here. Thanks for making my trip relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your experience at our hotel. I'm glad our staff was able to contribute to your "best hotel experience" and I will be sure to share your kind words with all of our management and hotel staff! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, MS
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Good location, staff generally pleasant but lacked training, older facility needs work. Elevators most obviously. Some facilities good. Room decent size and clean no smoke smell. Has parking but access is inconvenient.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us. I'm happy that you enjoyed our hotel location. Please contact me if you would like to provide more details regarding your stay. Again, we appreciate your comments and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brit Abroad
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

After a longish drive we arrived and were welcomed by the very friendly front desk staff.

No issues whatsoever with using the lift up to our room and pleasantly surprised to have a room with a door direct to the pool area.

A bit of noise from the heating and folks down in the street but nothing that caused a bad nights sleep.

Straight across the street from The Peabody and the adorable ducks and a short walk to Beal Street bars and music venues.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazzybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! It's always nice after a long day of traveling to be greeted with a friendly face, and it pleases me that you were welcomed with southern hospitality. We appreciate your comments and hope you will come visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
844 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Property: Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing