We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and thats all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #31 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Me and my wife got to our memphis downtown holiday inn at around noon and were pleasantly surprised to have the front desk say that our room was ready 4 hours early. but after 15 min. (no lie) of waiting for the elevator to take our luggage up to the 12th floor we arrived to our room to meet one of the two maintenance men working on our water saying that that it had been running out of the bath tub fossett. the room was old but remodeled and wasnt horrible but the "city view" wasnt much more than the roof top view of some local buildings. We only stayed for one night and tried to eat the breakfast but they wanted almost 11.00 a person for some dried up eggs and biscuits so we chose to eat at one of the best diners in memphis for less than that a piece. The only thing that was great about this hotel is that its within walking distance to beale st.

Room Tip: stay across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are happy we were able to accommodate your reservation early and check you and your wife into your room when you arrived in Memphis. I apologize that our maintenance employee was in the room working when you arrived. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location is definitely the best thing about this hotel. The room was ok, comfy bed and all that but there was a lot of noise from the heating and the ice machine down the hall. The parking was also very convenient. We didn't try the breakfast as there was a nice deli 2 blocks away that served Starbucks and the hotel coffee was lousy. The complimentary morning donuts and afternoon cookies were a nice touch though. We didn't benefit from this but they also had a guest of the day which they picked at random who then got a room upgrade and free parking and breakfast - nice! Really close to Beale St, opposite the Peabody, a few blocks from the waterfront and a short drive to the other attractions.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank AmeliaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to comment about your experience. It sounds like you enjoyed our great location, hotel amenities, and convenient parking. Please come back and visit us again! We would love for you to be our guest of the day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for one night. It was ok. There was definitey not enough parking for as many rooms as they have. People were parking out in the open so it was really hard to get through and to think you had to pay for parking. Luckily we have a little car or we would not have been able to park there. The bathroom in the room was reall small. The rooms need a major update. One of the elevators were broken and the elevator to the garage was so slow that we waited at least 10 minutes just to get on and ended up taking the stairs. The whole hotel needs an update. Would not recommend staying here for a long period of time. It was ok but definitely won't be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business and your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is located just blocks from Beale Street and right across the street from the Peabody Hotel. Walking distance is really good for most things you want to do downtown. The negative is the hotel itself. The employees are rude and do not even greet you when you walk through the lobby in the morning or any other time for that matter. There is no breakfast in the morning and after 5 nights, I got one newspaper in the morning. The rooms are so old and outdated. I was really unhappy with my stay and will not return to this hotel even if I have to go against my platinum elite status with Holiday Inn (Intercontinental Hotel rewards).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for your comments and for being a Platinum Priority Club member. I'm happy you enjoyed the location of our hotel. Please provide me with additional details regarding when you stayed at our hotel so I can address those who worked in our lobby during your visit. Our hotel is a full service hotel and our restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner each day. In regard to the newspaper not delivered to your room, I apologize as it should have been delivered to you each day as a benefit of being a PC member. Complimentary newspapers are also available in the lobby each morning. Again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights only. Room was very nice and beds were comfortable and clean.We wereon the 14th floor and found the lifts a litle slow .First morning we went to Dennys next door for breakfast that was just ok. So tried breakfast at the hotel the next day which was slightly better. Would love a really hot cup of tea or coffee ..... havent found one yet in the Deep South.Location was good for Beale Street.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gorgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you staying with us while visiting Memphis. I'm sorry that you weren't able to find that special cup of coffee that you were looking for during your visit to the South, however, I hope you did find southern hospitality during your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had a business meeting in downtown Memphis and chose this Holiday Inn Select as it was around the corner from the office where the meeting was being held. Although an older property, the room was comfortable and quiet. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. As a Platinum Priority Club member, I received an upgraded room and a complimentary breakfast buffet which. The rates at this downtown property are VERY reasonable. If you are visiting Memphis for business or pleasure, this Holiday Inn Select is a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suprselr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I'm happy that you enjoyed our hotel accommodations, that you found our staff to be friendly, and our location to be convenient for your business meeting. I hope you had time to walk over to some of the Memphis sites while you were in town. Please contact me directly for any future reservations. We appreciate you staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

You are paying to be so close to Beale street that's the plus. The 6 th floor we stayed on was very 70's wallpaper and the bathroom had dust all over the baseboards . For $170 a night I would except better! The windows ... you can hear people talking on the street and cold wind came through. The lobby was nice had a old time feel to it. They did have a security officer on duty. fYI breakfast room service $5.99 !

Room Tip: Don't stay on 6th floor. Beakfast room service $5.99
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank messmer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you staying with us a our Holiday Inn Select Downtown Memphis. We are happy you enjoyed the benefits of our convenient location. As you will find, our hotel rates are very competitive with the downtown area. Again, we appreciate your thoughts and look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 138 in Memphis
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $114 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing