We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but In DESPERATE Need of a Facelift!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it was running a special for the week of Thanksgiving. We stayed for one night and that was LONG ENOUGH for us. The hotel is in desperate need of a make over. It looks like it has 15 layers of paint on the wood trim and the hotel room smelled bad. The bathroom counter had been redone but nothing else in the tiny bathroom seemd to have been. The parking runs about $12/night and the elevators run VERY slow. The receptionist was nice, but the hotel itself is very very sad looking inside. If you are in town for a VERY short stay AND you found a great deal, then I would say it would be ok. It is in a great location, just around the corner from THE BEST ribs place (Rendezvous) - Yum! - and a couple of blocks away from Beale Street. We are planning to go back to Memphis for a couples weekend, but we plan on staying at the Hampton Inn located on Beale St. I would love to stay at the beautiful Peabody but it's quite a bit more expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILUVUNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your visit to our hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel and staff. We hope you will consider us again for future stays in Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great location if you like staying in the city. The hotel is located a few blocks from Beale Street and just a few steps from The Rendezvous Rib Joint!

The staff is friendly and helpful. My room was clean and nicely appointed. The only meal I had there was breakfast and well, it was breakfast. Nice lounge with friendly bartender is adjacent to the lobby.

The only complaint I have is that the the hotel shuttle vans (with the hotel name on them) will not take you to the airport (or anywhere else) unless you are part of an airline crew. It cost about $30 plus tip for a taxi to or from the airport so you can expect to add about $75 to the cost of staying here if you need transportation. I will have to do some research to see if there is another downtown hotel with an airport shuttle.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomthbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us! We appreciate your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel guest room, amenties, location, restaurant and bar. As you will find in your research regarding shuttle services, other downtown hotels do not provide airport transportation. Again, we do appreciate you staying with us. Please contact me directly for future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We visited Memphis in August 2012. Little did we know it was Elvis Week! Despite the extra hustle and bustle, we had a very enjoyable time. The location was great for walking in and around downtown Memphis. It is close to Beale St and other downtown attractions, being right across from the Peabody.

Staff was helpful and patient. Cookies and lemonade in the afternoon were a nice touch in the lobby after a day of exploring.

Room Tip: Parking is in the basement. Larger vehicles might have tight clearances. Our Honda Pilot fit but oth...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knucklebusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you so much for staying at our hotel during your Memphis travels. It sounds like you picked a wonderful week to visit the city. I am happy that you enjoyed our hotel location and amenties. Please contact us again for any future reservations. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for one night while attending a friend's surprise birthday party at a Beale Street nightclub. This Holiday Inn had convenient valet ramp-parking, small-yet-comfortable rooms with recent updates, and a decent lobby with free snacks and lemonade. We bar-hopped our way to the party with stops at the more upscale Peabody Hotel lobby, and Madison Hotel rooftop.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrushka-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you staying with us during your time in Memphis. It sounds like our hotel and location was perfect for your night of entertainment on Beale Street. Thank you for staying with us while celebrating your friend's birthday! Please contact us for any future reservations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Pros:
Great location-2 blocks from marathon start and 1 block from finish
Parking garage ($12)
Friendly, helpful staff
Provided $10 pasta buffett for St. Jude's Marathon which was convenient and had good food
Complimentary cookies in evening and donuts and coffee in morning
Great magnifying mirror in bathroom and well lighted
Very comfortable bed
Sleeping area appeared to be clean
Cons:
Slow elevator
Small bathroom with very low commode-don't think that a large person could close door
Moldy smell in shower area and under the toliet rim needed cleaning which is typical in many hotels because I don't think the maids know to clean there.
Very noisy street noise--horse and buggies across the street with dogs-so you had clanking horse feet and barking dogs until very late, and also speeding vehicles passing with loud mufflers and loud music- (light sleepers or people with insomnia beware-ear plugs were provided in room if you can sleep with them in)

Room Tip: Choose an room away from the street. They are much quieter. Also ask for a room on the lower floors...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for staying with us during the marathon. We appreciate your business and are happy that you found our hotel location and amenities to be convenient for you. Please contact us again for future reservations as we would be happy to assist you with accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was extremely disappointed at the overall condition of the the property, including the rooms, elevators, conference rooms. When I do stay at the ICGHs, I usually stay at Holiday-Inn express and boy what a difference between the two. I was in town with a large group for a conference for 5 days. You can tell they are not use to large groups as they couldnt handle the demand. The rooms are decent, but time for remodeling! The elevators are barely functioning, taking 5 minutes to get to you once you called it. Granted there are about 4 elevators! The walls are thin! I heard everything next door, above me and outside! Stay away from rooms on the 14th floor because the ball rooms are above, God help you if they are having a night event! The conference rooms are large but needs rennovation. I am not sure why we were not provided with a microphone while using the conference room. The conference rooms are located next to a kitchen!!!!!! So imagine my horror when we heard the garbage disposal and dishes against each other! They have several shuttles, but I dont think they adverstise it! I was told they use them only for pilots! so not cool! Honestly I dont think i will stay here again. On the positive side, it is in a great location. If you are looking for a quick one night stay then I would say go ahead! The staff is great!

Room Tip: Stay away from the 14th floor
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for your review and for staying with us during your Memphis visit. We appreciate your comments about our wonderful staff and our great location. We apologize that you were not pleased with the overall condition of the the property. Our hotel is in the planning stages for a renovation and hope you contact us again for future renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were extremely pleased with everything about the Holiday Inn Select in downtown Memphis. We knew we were not at the Peabody (paid about one third of the price) but had a clean, comfortable room and just as good of a location (just across from the Peabody). It was an easy stroll to Beale Street and just up the alley from the Rendezvouz.
We were there for the marathon and the location was great for all the relate activities.
We ate breakfast both days in the hotel and it was very good and extremely reasonable.
Service was top notch at the front desk and in the bar and retaurants. Everyone on the hotelstaff was extremely friendly.
We will return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your Memphis trip for the St. Jude Marathon. We appreciate your comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our accommodations, location, and staff. You stated that you will be back to visit us again soon. When that time comes, feel free to reach out to me directly for your reservations, as I would be delighted to assist you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 138 in Memphis
879 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $160 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing