We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel in a decent location, but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #35 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We didn't have a reservation for a hotel in Memphis, but wanted somewhere close to the center as we were told it was best (safest) to stay in the more tourist areas. The price for the room (sunday and monday nights) cost over $300, which was the most expensive hotel on our trip, and although the rooms were nice, it was probably also the least value for money. Breakfast and parking were not included, although both available. The bar did serve nice food, and there was complimentary juice, coffee, biscuits and muffins in the lobby throughout the day. Definitely recommend this city though!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your thoughts. You will find our hotel rates and parking to be very competitive in our market. As with most full service hotels that have a restaurant, breakfast options are available and not included in the room rates. We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations, location, and our restaurant. Again, thank you for your comments. Please contact me directly for any future reservations. I would be happy to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Thank you for a lovely stay. Walking distance to Beale Street and Sun Studios. Rooms are a little tired, but clean and tidy. But no laundry (self service)! Really need to fix that! Thankfully, the staff offered to drive us to a laudrette and collect us afterwards - which was beyond the call and we were so grateful. So a BIG thanks for that :)
The restaurant below for breakfast was awesome and had lovely staff, however, we dined at the restaurant for dinner....only to be the seen as a "hassle/problem" - as the young girl behind the bar wanted to socialize with her friends. Not impressed. Hope to see you again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for staying with us while visiting Memphis. I'm glad you found our location desirable as we are in the heart of downtown. Our housekeeping staff works hard to provide each guest clean and tidy rooms, and I'm glad you had a great experience at our hotel. Please come again soon. I would be happy to assist you with future reservations. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Many thanks to all the staff at Holiday inn Select for all your help and good wishes during our recent stay at the hotel. We would like to say thank you all very much for everything you done in making our recent anniversary stay very memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERIC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you so much for spending such a special occassion at our hotel. Congratulations on your anniversary. I'm happy our staff could assist you in making this a memorable time for you. We hope you come back next year and celebrate with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just spent 3 nights here as part of a Titan tour. Have to say that although the decor and bathrooms are a bit tired and in need of a refresh we would stay here again. Great location just along from Beale and other attractions. Regarding other comments...

Street noise - apart from the refuse truck we didnt experience any even though we were on the 14th floor (at my request because I had heard that a high floor would alleviate noise*)-slept very well with only the aircon being noisy.
* requested before arrival and included request to be nowhere near the ice or drinks machine or the lift-all requests were met - thanks Cindy!
We did comment on the distinct lack of traffic in downtown areas most times of the day.

Staff - found ALL staff friendly and respectfull especially at Reception.

Food- We had breakfast included and found it more than adequate-self service hot buffet.

Facilities- Generally good but as stated tired-bathroom particularly but all public areas need a lick of paint and the carpets need re lifing. Reception and dining areas were good.
Most important wife assessed the cleanliness and found all OK !!!

Only bad point - 14th floor windows need replacing or serious servicing-however hardly in the room so no big deal!
So...would we return -definitely yes.

PS on arrival there was a fault on our door latch-it was fixed by a cheery maintenance man in 15 minutes!

Room Tip: High floor-back of hotel-nowhere near elevator/ice & drinks machine and not overlooking the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186317PhantomPhixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us! We appreciate your comments. I'm happy that you enjoyed your accommodations, that you found our location to be desirable and that our staff was helpful and courteous. It was my pleasure to ensure your requests were met upon arrival. We love having you here and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked in here for two nights recently during a trip of the Southern States. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in during our trip and I must say the worst pound for pound!! The room was actually very clean and tidy and, as we were allocated an accessible room, we had a nice large bathroom. There was no breakfast included here but they did have complimentary doughnuts and coffee in the lobby and the restaurant did serve breakfasts at a fairly reasonable price. There were two disappointing elements to our stay here, the first being the lack of humility and interest from the desk staff and the second was that the lifts were so frustrating. We were only on the 9th floor but to call a lift and get down to the lobby or car park took us up to fifteen minutes!!! It also didn't help that the cleaning staff were hogging them when we tried to get downstairs during the mornings!! The cleaning staff were not very friendly either! We chose this hotel because it was very close to Beale Street, just two blocks away. Even though we were not entirely pleased with this hotel, we were at least pleased we were in a good location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefamilyhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Memphis. We appreciate your comments. I'm glad you found the hotel accommodations clean and tidy. I apologize that you felt a member of our staff was not friendly and thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please contact me with additional details. We appreciate your business and hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a nice hotel,short walk to Beale street.The staff was very friendly and helpful.The room was clean but being so close to beale st. expect it to be noisey at night as is any other hotel in the beale street area.Parking is in the hotel and secure.This was my second stay at this hotel and will come back again.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room next to the street for less noise at night.They party till 4am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank platinumF150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us again when traveling to Memphis. I'm happy our location provided you easy access to Beale Street entertainment and that you enjoyed your nice, clean room accommodations. Please contact me directly for any future reservations. Again, thank you for allowing us to be your hotel of choice when traveling to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is a quite thread-worn in the room, the common areas, and the elevators. It was acceptable, but nothing special. The location was very good - centrally located between the various downtown tourist areas. Parking was easy.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank acosner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you staying with us. We appreciate your comments. I am glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that you were able to enjoy the sites of Memphis. We will doing some renovations to our hotel very soon. Please come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#4 of 139 in Memphis
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#10 of 139 in Memphis
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $151 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing