We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”

Blue Plate Cafe Downtown
Ranked #40 of 1,690 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

Great breakfast. Too much on the plate really. Heated plates! Good coffee. Very popular with people constantly queuing. So in turn very busy.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 812 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

Hostess was extremely rude and server wasn’t much betters Service was horrible. Food was mediocre at best. 20 minute wait for the table wasn’t bad but the 40 minute wait for food was horrible.
Overall I would not recommend this place as seeing the grouchy rude hostess was a major turn off.
Not sure how this place is so packed with the crappy service. Oh and our group didn’t hear a “thank you” or see a smile from a worker the entire time we were there.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank laffertyJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

We were recommended this place by the guy in our guest house, and had breakfast here twice! Both times I had the eggs benedict, and they were superb both times. Hubby had different breakfasts both times and thoroughly enjoyed both breakfasts (I can't remember what he had!). The hash browns were amazing, potato and ham, what's not to like!!
Good portion sizes too, nice and clean. Very reasonable prices too. Yes the waitresses were busy but they were friendly and pleasant and absolutely on the ball making sure water and coffee were kept topped up. And yes, the hostess can seem a tad brusque, but she wasn't unfriendly, just not quite as friendly as some others.
Highly recommend for breakfast - well we must do - we went back twice!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

So I would have given them a 5, but the sausage was overcooked pretty badly, but other than that, it was great. I get it though, no one wants undercooked pork, however there are tricks to frying sausage patties without turning them into hockey pucks. The pancakes are that special kind of fluffy yet crispy on the edges that gives it that little extra oompf. I HIGHLY recommend the butter pecan, soooo good and the syrup is nice and warm when they bring it to the table. And the omelette was super tasty. Get there early because they crowded from the second the doors open.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank LLEVY73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

Probably the worst restaurant experience ever. Entered the lobby to the overwhelming smell of urine. Hostess refused to acknowledge us. So we just stood there. Another quest said that she must be having a bad day. Finally seated and the server was very nice. While eating, my wife chokes up a wad of plastic. She pulls it out if her mouth and lays it on the plate. Looked like the top of a plastic bag cut off the pancake mix or blueberries. The server was very nice but the mgr refused to come out to talk. The server comp'd the meal but I still tipped her as she didnt deserve to be stiffed. She was the only nice part of our visit. This place has really gone down. You can tell the leadership is just not quality and the entire business is falling apart. They should sell it before they kill somebody or make them very sick. They won't have either opportunity with us ever again.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Lewis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Cafe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing