We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional southern food”

Blue Plate Cafe Downtown
Ranked #19 of 1,446 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional southern food”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stopped in for lunch at the Blue Plat Cafe and had lunch with a lot of the locals. The menu is on a sheet of paper and you check off what you want to turn in your order. The cornbread was outstanding. The southern vegetables were authentic. My salmon patties were good. The peach cobbler and apple cobbler had to be boxed up to go but they were good later.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sonofMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    187
    70
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
323 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“I think about the peanut butter syrup every day...”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This was the last restaurant we visited on our trip to Memphis. The biscuits were perfect, the staff was delightful, and the atmosphere was inviting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farrah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Southern cooking”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a great lunch! The variety of options are fantastic. In addition to your entree one has the choice of sides many of which are traditional Southern comfort food. The corn bread and biscuits are worth eating here even if you were to have nothing more.
Caution at this location though,they close at 2:00 PM

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gonealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's like my Grandma is in the kitchen!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon the Blue Plate Cafe while looking for a place to eat breakfast close to the Madison. Lucky us. We managed to snag a table with only a couple of minutes' wait. The place is fairly small and the line grew while we were there, but evidently many of them were regulars because they were waiting patiently. I had eggs which looked like they were fried in an iron skillet, hash brown, bacon, biscuits and gravy. My wife had the pancakes, which were served with warm syrup. Every item was outstanding. The biscuits and gravy would have been a sufficient meal by themselves. We left full and satisfied - and happy that we had a good place to walk it off. Each staff member we encountered was friendly and accommodating. We will DEFINITELY hit the Blue Plate the next time we're in Memphis.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We asked a hotel staff member for a recommendation for breakfast, and he was kind enough to direct us to the Blue Plate Cafe. My husband thought that we could walk 'the scenic route' to the cafe, translation ; we became lost. We asked at another hotel staffer for a recommendation for breakfast and the second person also directed us to the Blue Plate Cafe. This is clearly a favourite with Memphis locals, and when we found it, we discovered why. Fantastic breakfast with a huge choice. We went back also for breakfast on our second and final day in Memphis. It is busy on weekends, but worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janelle016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Plate Cafe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing