We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost Tour”
Review of Backbeat Tours

Backbeat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.59*
and up
Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour
Ranked #4 of 31 Tours in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Backbeat Tours offers a variety of different ways to see and experience the best of Memphis, including sightseeing bus tours and walking tours such as the popular Memphis Ghost Tour in the evenings and the Memphis History Tour in the daytime. Our Memphis Mojo Tour -- the city's only live music tour -- is the most entertaining way of experiencing the best of Memphis!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Ghost Tour”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We took the 2 hour Memphis Ghost Tour and it was great! The tour guide was really good, both competent regarding the history of Memphis but also a good "story teller". This tour was really beyond our expectations, and we can definitely recommend this event.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathrine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    102
    23
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Good overview of Memphis Music”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Took the tour and learned lots about Memphis and the Blues. We included the Sun Studio tour, which was the highlight. Also drove past the small apartment where Elvis lived for a while, visited Overton Park where he gave his first 'concert', got lots of insider information about the music scene during those heydays. Drove past Civil Rights Museum, Stax Studio, St Jude Hospital, typical landmarks, etc. If you are looking for a history of Memphis tour, or a city landmarks/current events tour, this is not the one for you. Focus on our tour was on music and music appreciation.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Leave the driving to them!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and guide through Memphis visiting all the sights that are there and are significant. Our guide and Performer did a great job of adding fun and great information to the experience. Live music while visiting Beale street, Sun Studio (drive by) Overton Park, Peabody Hotel (where the ducks rule supreme), Lorraine Motel and other significant places. It gives one direction and information about the significance of these places. History and songs mixed in. There are several musicians who play music and guide these tours. It is not a get out and walk tour; it is a sit and enjoy the experience situation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chasman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
282 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Culture music & sightseeing all in one!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a unique and creative way to tour Memphis. Not only do you learn about famous musicians you can hear one of their songs while singing along and playing tambourine. You get to see many of the attractions listed on TripAdvisor so its a great way to start a visit.

Helpful?
Thank joe-chicago-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very cool!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My friend and I did one of the walking ghost tours. Was a lot of fun! A few really creepy stories and a few interesting ones too. Our guide was energetic and told the stories well and kept us all involved in the tour. I definitely recommend this experience!

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank dfant80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backbeat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Backbeat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing