We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good East Memphis Italian”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Marciano Restaurant
Ranked #282 of 1,445 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lake Norman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good East Memphis Italian”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A nice Italian spot on a quiet side street in East Memphis. Food is a mixed bag with top quality Ceasar salad, but the Pasta Bolognase was not what I expected - kind of like a meat pizza on top of noodles. Some Greek dishes are offered in addition to Itilian. Wines by the glass are pricey. The service is okay but not what I would call friendly. The interior is dark and cozy. Overall a good choice for the area.

Helpful?
Thank Popadoupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mediterranean Delight”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have frequented Marciano's restaurant several times and it is one of our favorite restaurants. The food is consistently excellent with interesting spices and flavors. The atmosphere is conducive to good conversation and we find it just a comfortable place for a dinner either on the week-day or week-end. Prices are reasonable. Recently we had the Chefs Antipasta Platter though often we opt for the Greek Dolmeh both of which are excellent. This time we ordered for our main courses the Bolognese and the Pollo all Arrabicetta which we thought were delicious. The latter dish is an option for those who especially like foods a little extra hot and spicy. Most of the time we don't order dessert, but consider at least sharing the Torta doi Modena - a nice end to a delicious meal!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
375 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Scam Artists! Rip off! AVOID”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Advertise one menu on *.com but hit you with a more expensive menu that doesn't even have all the stuff on the *.com menu. Been doing this for over a year. Bait and switch tactic. Alcohol prices are outrageous! Food is frozen or tastes like it. Been here three times, always the same. Will never go back. AVOID this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SymnCwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Excellent food and service; it has become one of my favorite restaurants.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Maritza I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious, delightful, delectable, wonderful! Experience it yourself!”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The building is impressive and so is the service, presentation and food. One member of our group never found a stuffed grape leaf she liked until she tasted the ones here. We had the Phesen Joon - grilled chicken with pomegranate walnut sauce, served with basmati rice, Seared Halibut served with angel hair pasta and Veal Saltimboca served with choice of pasta or rice. Desserts included Tiramisu and Passion Fruit Sorbet - again delicious.
Suzanne, our server, was knowledgeable and attentive. The chef was able to accommodate food allergies too. The atmosphere and decor is nice and the food is just so savory.
We arrived at 6:00 and were the only customers, but when we left about 7:15, seven other parties had arrived. No one was at the bar, so I don't know how the atmosphere would be later in the evening. But it was just fine when we were there. We didn't make reservations, but it might be advantageous if arriving later in the evening.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willowtower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marciano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing