We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Restaurant Iris

Restaurant Iris
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Iris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #103 of 1,469 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cooper
Description: Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant. Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.
Olive Branch
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It is over the top - but almost to the point of overkill. Don't get me wrong, the food was great,but somewhere along the line, you have to say that less is more. My wife he'd the redfish, which she said was very good. I had the steak stuffed with blue cheese and fried oysters- which was also good. I have had better steaks. All that being said, our waitress far out shined the food. She was incredible. She knew the menu backwards and forwards.

This is a very nice restaurant - for me - been there, done that...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EddfromOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    30
    21
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paragould, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I will not say that this is the best place to dine in Memphis, as I have not been to every place in Memphis. However I will say that my meal at Restaurant Iris last night was one of the best meals that I have ever had. I had high expectations for this restaurant, and I can say that I was not disappointed. Everything was wonderfully executed down to the smallest detail. I will definitely be coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank micvic1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Are We at the Restaurant Yet??”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

CAUTION: The Trip Advisor address at the top is wrong! The CORRECT address is: 2146 East Monroe Ave. Therefore your mapquest/garmin will be wrong and therefore you might end up wasting lots of time driving around the neighborhood searching... just like we did. The folks at the restaurant told us they keep notifying Trip Advisor of the error but it remains uncorrected. Iris is upscale and is priced that way. "Chef-food" type of menu offerings which can be a double-edged sword: in our case, the Brussel sprouts appetizer was not to our liking, the lamb dish was just OK and the shrimp and grits entrée was unusual but something, I guess, you have to grow up with to like. Nice sized portions and fine service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IndySourkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island FL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice Restaurant in Memphis”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It was not easy to get a reservation, but the staff at Iris tried their best to accommodate our needs. The food and service were above average and the atmosphere was very comfortable. We took a friend that lives in Memphis and he said he did not realize they had such a nice place in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Packerfan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMPHIS
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This place is excellent”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a great place for a special occasion. We dined here for my friends birthday. I called ahead ( a must - yiu must have a reservation) and they were delighted to accommodate us. They made the event special, and even had the manager wait on us. A truly memorable experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobVMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Restaurant Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing