We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
Ranked #33 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed May 18, 2014

this hotel has great rooms great staff very clean well looked after the staff couldn't do enough for us thanks for a great stay would definetley recommend location is great its on main street with a trolley car stop right outside

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thanks for staying with us during your travels through Memphis. We are happy to hear you had a good stay. Also, thanks for the mention of members of our staff. I will share your comments with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 407 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

We just recently returned from a road trip to Chicago and on our way we choose to stay at the Courtyard Marriott Downtown. The location was an easy on and off the highway, without actually being on the highway. The staff were very efficient and helpful. I would like to mention the valet, Arlenzia, was great. We arrived late and he was so welcoming. Also, we were moving items up to our son in Chicago and he made sure that he parked our car in a safe place. It gave us peace of mind and made our overnight stay relaxing. The property worked out so well that on our return trip home, we also chose to stay here again. We arrived just after the restaurant closed and the girl that checked us in gave us some menus of restaurants in the area that would deliver. In the morning at check-out Danielle was warm, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

We appreciate you stay with us. I have relayed your comments to the associates you named in your comments so they know you appreciated their service. Hope to see you again should you pass through Memphis in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is an easy to use downtown hotel. Everything was clean and well kept. The lobby has been recently remodeled and provides everything you need for business or family travel. The hotel is an easy 4 block walk to Beale Street.

Room Tip: The higher level floors give you a nice view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Happy to hear you enjoyed your room and the view of the Mississippi river. Look forward to your next visit to Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I really enjoyed my two-night stay at the Courtyard Marriott in downtown Memphis to attend my son's wedding. It was on a main street with a trolley car which I'd also recommend taking a ride to the river. There was numerous restaurants nearby which were very good as well. The amenities in the room were well appointed and so was the cleanliness. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woody1834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes to your son and and wife from all of our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I had a nice quiet room on the eighth floor, more than spacious for me alone, a huge TV, a coffemaker and a fridge. The room was clean, the bathroom amenities very ok. The folks at the frontdesk were friendly an helpful. In the evening I enjoyed to sit outside, sip a beer and enjoy the southern charme.

Room Tip: I always prefer high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctom_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. Happy to hear you enjoyed your room. Hope you are able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Yes I say almost perfect. I entered my room and found that it was not set up to sleep 4 as i requested. However, once i informed the front desk they did make the corrections fast & allowed me to still have a corner room with a balcony. The room layout was wonderful. Plenty of space for my party of 4 & again, the balcony was a nice feature that overlooked Main St.
Now on to the "almost" part. The microwave did not work, & a late night request for an additional pillow went unfulfilled. The biggest shocker came in the morning. The room did not come with breakfast like any other Marriott that I have stayed in. They have added The Bistro which has a nice variety of food, but just not included with your stay.

Room Tip: Request a corner balcony overlooking Main St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 126RichardM126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thanks for you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. I am glad we were able to quickly resolve your issues and insure your comfort. While other Marriott brands do offer free breakfast, Courtyard is not one of the brands that do. Instead, we offer a restaurant that has a wider variety of options including many many made to order options. We also offer a breakfast package room rate that may meet your needs on your next Courtyard stay.

Thanks again and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last March, we were on a roadtrip through Tennessee and Memphis was our first stop (2 adults and 2 little kids). This is a nicer Courtyard than other locations we've stayed in the past, probably because it's new. It's walking distance to Beale Street and several other attractions (Mud Island River Park, Peabody Hotel, Rock and Soul Museum, Gibson tour, Fedex Forum). There is a trolley stop steps away from the hotel's entrance. Our room with 2 queen beds was spacious, modern and had a small balcony. The bathroom was also a good size with a large shower. Parking is not free, valet will cost you quite a bit but you can self park at a public parking lot a block away for less. Free wi-fi worked well, breakfast is not included (standard for Courtyards) and we tried the breakfast at their Bistro in the lobby one day, the food was good and they have a nice seating area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciana-Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thanks for staying with us again. We look forward to having you as our guest again on your future visits to Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Memphis Downtown

Address: 75 Jefferson Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2127 (Formerly Courtyard Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $187 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott Downtown Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing