We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
Ranked #31 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine for a quick stay”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was the third hotel of our stay and sadly was the worst. The hotel is clean but some of the staff incredibly unhelpful. One girl on reception continued eating and chewing in front of us as we asked questions (most of which she didn't know the answer to). This was not only unprofessional but actually just quite rude!
They also didn't seem to have great area knowledge and cost us an unnecessary $35 as we were told the only way to get to Gracelands was via a cab (quick tip, there is a free shuttle which goes from the fedex form hourly to sun studios and Gracelands).
If needing a quick overnight this is the hotel for you, if wanted an enjoyable holiday stay, probably go elsewhere I'm afraid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingBumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    160
    58
    15
    9
See reviews for
83
122
14
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Booked room based upon TripAdvisor comments. Glad I did! They could use an additional staffer at the bar/grill area, but other than that enjoyed everything about the experience. Clean, modern rooms. Great common space. Plenty of comfortable seating areas.

Room Tip: Request a corner room with balcony. It's worth additional $20/night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHound101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassuolo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Quite easy to reach by car from the motorways of the area, parking service for some dollars. The building seems new, absolutely comfortable and warmful look. Located near to pedestrian walks, 15 minutes walking to Beale Street. We went there with no reservation, but fortunately no problem. Clean rooms and very fine new furniture, the bathroom as well. Not exactly the cheapest, but absolutely in line with the overall quality services. All people has been gentle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dex100365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed three nights recently at the Courtyard Marriott downtown, and really enjoyed the experience. The hotel is very new (2010, I believe), and so as you’d expect is in great condition. The hotel lobby offers a bistro and bar area for quick breakfasts or relaxing before heading out for dinner. The rooms themselves were large, well-appointed, clean. Ours even had a balcony that overlooked the lit-up bridge. The location can’t be beat – right on the trolley line, and a few blocks from Beale Street, it offered a convenient location to get to everything, but far enough away that there was no residual city noise issues to deal with. The staff was great as well – the moment we arrived, a bellman took my husband out to the front entrance and pointed out directions of the major sites, and gave us great ideas of places to see (and those to steer clear of!). Throughout our stay the staff was helpful with directions, offering suggestions, and making any necessary reservations or arrangements. The only downside – the hotel has a great rooftop lounge and hot tub area, but we didn’t discover it until our final day! It would have been good if the staff had mentioned it. But overall, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay again at this Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_Travel_Bugs_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
698 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was my first stay at this hotel and I was pleased at all aspects. The staff greeted me, checkin was fast, my room was perfect, quiet, internet worked well, and it was clean. The only thing that would add to the room would be a microwave, but it was easy enough to do without.

Room Tip: I always tend to ask for high floors and away from the elevator, and I was third floor and in a corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkrupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here during a conference and had the lovely wife join me.
What a great hotel.
Very clean rooms, and pleasant lobby area.
Perfect location right on the trolley/cable car line. Easy walking distance to Beale St. if you don't want to spend a buck on the trolley.

The only downside is they advertised "football Sunday" in the lobby but.... nothing....

Great place.... I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericjbabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We met my sister and her husband in Memphis, because it is about 1/2way between our homes. We booked in advance and got a very good rate. The online reservation system really came through, and were able to accommodate our specific room requests. The front desk, manned by Felicia on one day, and by Lois on the other two, was delightful. Both were so very friendly and helpful. The room was classy and comfortable, and very quiet for being on the "courtyard" side of the hotel. The "Bistro" serves killer soups and sandwiches. Loved the loaded baked potato soup. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxTrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Memphis Downtown

Property: Courtyard Memphis Downtown
Address: 75 Jefferson Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2127 (Formerly Courtyard Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Memphis
#24 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott Downtown Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing