We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent BBQ”

Charles Vergos' Rendezvous
Order Online
Ranked #53 of 1,690 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Rendezvous, founded by Charlie Vergos in 1948, started out as an 80 seat tavern serving ham and cheese sandwiches. When Charlie cleaned out the basement beneath his diner, he discovered a coal chute and started a barbecue legend. He developed a unique seasoning fusing his Greek heritage with spices he enjoyed from New Orleans. Mr. Charlie was a collector and hung antiques, memorabilia, and artwork on the walls. This, along with a soulful jukebox, lively waiters, and aromas from the kitchen helped him to create an atmosphere unequalled in the city of Memphis. Today, the restaurant is still in the Vergos family and run by Mr. Charlie's three kids. The ribs still taste the same as they did in the beginning. Ribs are the Rendezvous' specialty. While Rendezvous is famous for its ribs, don't overlook the other items on the menu. From the beef brisket to the pulled pork shoulder sandwich everything is excellent and well seasoned. We take reservations for parties of 8 or more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Decent BBQ with lots of history, but just average for Memphis. There are better places for ribs around. Good and friendly service.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 4,802 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been to Memphis many times and have eaten at many of their BBQ restaurants, except Rendezous. After a friend kept saying it was her favorite, I decided to try it. We were quickly seated and greeted by our server. We were then brought some red beans and rice. They were just room temperature and not much taste to them. They were free, that was a good thing. We ordered a rack of ribs($21ish) to share which came with 2 sides and dinner rolls. The sides were rather small(about 3 forks full) but the beans were good. The rack of ribs has were not meaty and when I bit into them, I hit bone. The meat was dark and so was the bone. after enduring this for a few bones, I stopped. When I looked at the table next me, their ribs were nice and meaty and looked smoked, not dark like ours. Nothing was hot, everything was just below room temperature. I was VERY disappointed. Good thing Memphis offers plenty BBQ restaurants I can still try.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tuckers0wner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogsfly, Owner at Charles Vergos' Rendezvous, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, we are so sorry you didn't enjoy your ribs! We wish you would've said something while you were here. There is always a family member on the floor ready to take care of any issue - we would've gladly replaced your order if you were not happy.

You are right - Memphis has tons of amazing BBQ spots. We eat at all of them! Sounds like you won't be back down - although we'd love to have you give us another try. We hope you enjoy your time in Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great location if you are right downtown Memphis. Been there forever, visited by former presidents. It is an institution. The best BBQ beans. The brisket was a little over cooked but the ribs were great. Really the beans with meat in them were amazing. A solid choice but expect a wait during busy hours. Cool ambience.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karbety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogsfly, Owner at Charles Vergos' Rendezvous, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much! So glad you enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

The real deal. Without question the best dry rubbed ribs in the U.S. You go there to connect with your carnivore instincts. Vegetables are few and far between.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank JeffF_1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogsfly, Owner at Charles Vergos' Rendezvous, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Ha. We do have a Greek Salad :). Glad you all enjoyed! Hope to see you back down soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019

There is a reason this place is as busy as it is and that the servers have such longevity here - it's a great environment with amazing BBQ! And there is a small part of me that hopes that Justin Timberlake might make an appearance!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank heartgirlnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogsfly, Owner at Charles Vergos' Rendezvous, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Haha. Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Vergos' Rendezvous also viewed

 

Been to Charles Vergos' Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing