We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Memphis style BBQ”

Charles Vergos' Rendezvous
Order Online
Ranked #53 of 1,692 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Rendezvous, founded by Charlie Vergos in 1948, started out as an 80 seat tavern serving ham and cheese sandwiches. When Charlie cleaned out the basement beneath his diner, he discovered a coal chute and started a barbecue legend. He developed a unique seasoning fusing his Greek heritage with spices he enjoyed from New Orleans. Mr. Charlie was a collector and hung antiques, memorabilia, and artwork on the walls. This, along with a soulful jukebox, lively waiters, and aromas from the kitchen helped him to create an atmosphere unequalled in the city of Memphis. Today, the restaurant is still in the Vergos family and run by Mr. Charlie's three kids. The ribs still taste the same as they did in the beginning. Ribs are the Rendezvous' specialty. While Rendezvous is famous for its ribs, don't overlook the other items on the menu. From the beef brisket to the pulled pork shoulder sandwich everything is excellent and well seasoned. We take reservations for parties of 8 or more.
Reviewed May 15, 2019

Great location if you are right downtown Memphis. Been there forever, visited by former presidents. It is an institution. The best BBQ beans. The brisket was a little over cooked but the ribs were great. Really the beans with meat in them were amazing. A solid choice but expect a wait during busy hours. Cool ambience.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karbety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogsfly, Owner at Charles Vergos' Rendezvous, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

Thanks so much! So glad you enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 4,815 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2019

The real deal. Without question the best dry rubbed ribs in the U.S. You go there to connect with your carnivore instincts. Vegetables are few and far between.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank JeffF_1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogsfly, Owner at Charles Vergos' Rendezvous, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Ha. We do have a Greek Salad :). Glad you all enjoyed! Hope to see you back down soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019

There is a reason this place is as busy as it is and that the servers have such longevity here - it's a great environment with amazing BBQ! And there is a small part of me that hopes that Justin Timberlake might make an appearance!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank heartgirlnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogsfly, Owner at Charles Vergos' Rendezvous, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Haha. Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019

Timed our arrival well before the queue for tables formed. Crazy place! Husband enjoyed his ribs more than me. Service and meal was over quite quickly. Went on recommendation of others but have had better ribs.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank haloftermtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019

Maybe a limited menu but good bbq and and interesting buzz to the place. But why is everything served with single use disposable plastics?? It may be cheaper but we wouldn’t go again for this reason alone.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank garywallisnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogsfly, Owner at Charles Vergos' Rendezvous, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

Hey Gary,

We do serve food with disposable cutlery, but they are all made of potatoes and compostable. We are a Project Green Fork certified restaurant. We recycle all bottles, plastics, cardboard, etc. Only use biodegradable plates, cups, etc. We also compost any compostable waste. We hope that all allays your concerns for a next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Vergos' Rendezvous also viewed

 

Been to Charles Vergos' Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing