We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Steak House in Memphis”

Mesquite Chop House
Ranked #244 of 1,459 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Mesquite Chop House is like no other steak house in the South. The Prime Steaks and Chops are grilled to perfection over Mesquite wood and served with an array of unique sides. We choose from only the finest USDA-Certified Aged Steaks available. Always at it's prime is not just our brand, it's how we try to live our lives as restaurateurs. We have built a concept in which high standards permeate all aspects of our restaurant. We are passionate about great tasting food and the pleasure of sharing it with others. Our menu items are prepared with organically grown produce from our very own Cherry Blend Farms in Holly Springs, Mississippi.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Steak House in Memphis”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Do not go to this restaurant. The service is very poor and the steaks are very bad. The quality of the meat is poor and they did not cook the steaks to order. I do not often rate restaurnts, but this one was so bad that I wanted to warn everyone not to go there. There are a lot of good to great resturants in Memphis, but this is not one of them.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    6
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Food was excellent. Service was very good.”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had not made reservations but arrived around 6:30 pm with 13 people in our party. The manager setup a place for us in an alcove off the dining room. The location was very nice and quiet. The food was great. We tried the crab cakes, scallops, and deviled eggs for appetizers. We had never seen deviled eggs as appetizers but they were not your ordinary deviled eggs. Everyone had steak. Those that tried the steak sauce said it was delicious but the steak really didn't need any sauce. Those that ordered the garlic mashed potatoes as side dishes found they could have shared with at least one more person - serving was hugh. Some even had room for dessert.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MangoRita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best in Memphis”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My fiance and I have been to Mesquite twice and have loved it each time, the food is excellent. The value is is good, and I would recomend it to anyone.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank memphisboi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible service - opportunity to save our visit, missed by proprietor Michael Patrick”
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We dined out as a group of 12 at the Memphis Chop House on Saturday December 4th; food was okay, but the service terrible. The restaurant was not overly busy, after being seated it took over one hour and twenty minutes to be served our food. While I understand sometimes groups take longer, at no time did the waitress give us updates on how much longer it would be or make our wait tolerable with prompt service on drinks or even a smile. There was also not any food preparations (steaks, etc.) that required long times - mostly pasta dishes.

Prior to our food coming out I asked to speak with the manager, spoke to Michael Patrick, explained our situation and he asked what we would like...I said I'll leave that up to you. When our check came, no consideration, no offer of free dessert or a drink, only a pre-included 20% gratuity on top for the group. I asked to speak with him again, he said it was policy and he couldn't change it, it was at that time he told me was not only the manager but the owner.

I can only conclude he was comfortable with the level of service his establishment provided.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vail-mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“An exceptional experience!”
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We visited the Chop House for our 15th wedding anniversary. The restaurant was a bit slower than we expected but it was a week night and the menu a la carte can be pricey. From the moment were greeted by our server to meeting the chef and until the last delicious morsel was eaten, our experience was made truly special. We spoke extensively with our server about our wine selection and his recommendation was a nice 2008 Ghost Pines Cabernet. Our appetizer was a delicious and delicate quail. We shared a fresh salad with hot honey-bacon dressing. For our entrée we chose filet. Mine was bleu cheese filled with a bourguignonne that complemented the cheese perfectly. For dessert, we had a heavenly, vanilla-caramel crème brule. We will return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thelittlestangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mesquite Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing