We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Memphis restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Oaks

River Oaks
Reserve with OpenTable
River Oaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #126 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: American, French, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lakeland, Tn
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Favorite Memphis restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I love this place, whether for lunch or dinner. The food is always delicious and the service is great. My favorite dish is the crab cakes - best I've had anywhere - absolutely perfect.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    28
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
161 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent in all manner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Wife & I had dinner having the duck and salmon. Both were excellent. This is our second visit and now have it on our favorite list for Memphis. Service was warm, friendly and attenative. Have no problem recommending. Ron

Helpful?
Thank eronpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I met a customer for dinner here last week. The service, food and food presentation was excellent.
I ordered the halibut. My customer ordered the tuna and duck. All were very happy with the meal. I would go again.

Helpful?
Thank mcabnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“fine food, nice separate large table for business dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

the food was terrific, as was the service. I enjoyed the salmon, others sampled the cod, and yet another had steak. They seated us at a large table that was ideal for business discussion, as it was set apart. Only slight negative was that the waitress announced the specials to our group of 8 just once, and it was a bit hard to hear her given the normal background noise in the restaurant. It was next to our hotel, a welcome short walk on a very rainy Memphis night. long wine list enhanced the meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ndalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
248 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff, good cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is my second trip to the restaurant. It is small and comfortable. The menu is excellent; it changes seasonally and has great choices. I thoroughly enjoyed and heirloom tomato and burrata salad and a caramelized salmon that was to die for. Good cocktails and wines by the glass. I had no reservation and that gave me a great table asking that I finish in 70 minutes and they provided prompt and professional wait staff to make that possible without rushing me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReginaPhelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing