We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Excellence”
Review of River Oaks

River Oaks
Ranked #127 of 1,445 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Memphis
Level Contributor
375 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Food is consistently great, service is also consistently very good and prices are reasonable given the high quality of Chef Jose's food. However, it was noisy and felt crowded; tables are too close together and it was hard to hear each other over the crowd.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SymnCwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    28
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DIning at River Oaks”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We met friends for dinner on a Wednesday evening. Great menu selections and each one of us easily identified an entree that fit our preferences for the evening. My husband and I had the three chees tasting as a starter. The evening's selection of cheeses was excellent. Ordered were Chef Jose's Sirloin Burger, the crispy lemon chicken paillard and two of the evening's fish of the day. The food was delicious and the plates appealing. A good choice for an evening of fine dining in a comfortable atmosphere. Also, the restuarant is certified project green fork !

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant w/ equally delicious food & drink!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I went to River Oaks for the 1st time recently and was very pleasantly suprised at the beautiful decor. There's a wonderful intimate atmosphere there whether at the bar or in the dining area. We sat at the bar and enjoyed some of their signature drinks - my favorite being the lemon drop martinin w/ basil. The slight taste of basil blended perfectly w/ the drink. The bartender was so friendly and helpful w/ the drink and food menu. I ordered their hamburger and it was the best 'designer' burger I've had in town. What I mean by 'designer' are burgers that run in the $12-$15 range. This one was well worth the $12 price. It was HUGE and could've been shared especially w/ the huge pot of homemade fries that came w/ it. I plan to go back to River Oaks for the great atmosphere & fare!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank salmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
163 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“If staying at Sheraton Four Seasons, it makes sense to eat here”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Liked the ambiance and lunch offerings. Caters to business clients, particularly groups. Food was delicious and presentation was appealing.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank slowee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“really good”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I enjoyed a fish dish and I appreciated good service

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank MemphisVis1t0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing