We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vista Inn & Suites Memphis
Ranked #70 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Not the place to stay if you want luxury but a good value option if you're on a budget. A short walk from Beale Street and other attractions. I even walked to the train station in about 30 minutes. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Free breakfast is basic. Pool looked ok. Staff were helpful, giving me a choice of ground or first floor room and gave me a local map.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    182
    148
    72
    80
See reviews for
87
234
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nakskov, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We got a nice welcome. The room was not very big, but well equipped with fridge, hairdryer etc.
It was clean, except for the bathroom door. Both aircon and internet functioned well.
The breakfast: Cereals and Danish pastry. Below usual standard, but OK for a change. No place place to sit, except for one bench outside and a small gazebo across the parking lot.
The location of Vista Inn is excellent. Free parking. 5 minutes walk to Beale Street or to the Peabody for watching the duck march. But especially at night you may also encounter the gloomier sides of American society in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finn Spurre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Jessica made our stay delightful. Her smile and charm was infectious. Very helpful And knowledgable. Location was perfect. We walked to Beale street. Will stay here again. Thanks Jessica !!! What could take 200 characters to write a review? Ughhhhbhbbbhbbbh.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked this hotel for two nights but after checking in and seeing the room and the neighborhood we decided to go. The room was not clean and smells filty, the toilet was broke, tv didn't work. Sheets were dirty and the extra lock on the door was broke. We didn't feel safe.

My husband told the employe at the reception the reason of our checkout. She was surprised and make no effort to do something about the things he noticed. It maybe a cheap hotel but our advice is pay a little bit more and feel safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMeyer1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaInnManagement, Manager at Vista Inn & Suites Memphis, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We apologize greatly that you did not have a good stay with us. We don't want you to feel like you were being neglected at all. Of course as soon as we had any notice that there were any problems we jump right at fixing them, whether it be changing sheets or changing t.v.'s to even changing rooms. We do want our guests to feel right at home. We are truely sorry if things weren't as you would have wished and we do hope that you will give us another try and let us show you the service that you would greatly appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in September 2013. It was easy to find, close to everything you need. Fridge in the room came in handy for drinks. Its not the best hotel we've stayed in but it was clean enough and felt safe. The pool was a nice addition in the Memphis heat, even at night, you could sit in the pool area. We've paid a lot more in chain hotels and had much worse service. Breakfast was OK, get there early as it seems to run out and is not refreshed. Pastries, cereal, juice and coffee - enough to get you started for the day - a seating area outside to eat at. Would recommend on location alone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaInnManagement, Manager at Vista Inn & Suites Memphis, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We realy enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again!! Have safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Salem, PA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

.....but that's about the best thing about this place. It was sketchy looking from the outside, and the inside confirmed those vibes. Sheets were stained, walls, bathroom, and floor were dirty with one area on the wall looking like dried blood. It was so nasty we left a day early. Don't stay here!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaInnManagement, Manager at Vista Inn & Suites Memphis, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are so apologetic that you did not have a good visit with us. If we had known that there were any problems with your room or that you felt uncomfortable at all, we would have immediately found a solution to any issues. We would have moved you to a room that would have made you feel comfortable. We do assure you that we are located in a safe area. There is a police substation to the side of our property. To go anywhere outside our back gate you would have to pass it. Also just located a block and a half west of us are The Peabody Hotel and The Doubletree Hotel. It is a very secure area. Again, we are very apologetic about any negative experiences that were had here with us. There is always someone here on property to assist you at all times. We do hope that you give us another try and stay with us again. We guarantee a much better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My first impression was that this looked like the motel from Breaking Bad. Our room had an awful smell but we thought we could manage it as we were only sleeping there. The location was good as it was close to Beale Street, Peabody Hotel and Sun Studios.

On the second night, I saw a black bug in the bed but didn't think anything of it. When I woke up in the morning I had big red welts on my check. I went to talk to the staff about getting around town (who didn't think it was necessary to remind us upon check in that breakfast was included). Then i told them that they have bed bugs. She said she'll change our room right away and will 'shut that room down'. When i left to pack my things, the staff had the audacity to suggest to my cousin that since she didn't get bitten that they don't have bed bugs.

At least the second room didn't smell, but i continued to get more bites..on my face, back, arms and legs. And yes, my cousin did get bites on her back as well.

Overall you get what you pay for and I wouldn't recommend this motel or chain again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Synsiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaInnManagement, Manager at Vista Inn & Suites Memphis, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are truely sorry that you had a bad experience here with us. We do wish that we had been alerted to any issues you had with the room sooner. We would have changed your room on the spot. We also apologize if anything was said to anyone that might have been taken out of context. I am sure that there was no intention of making anyone feel uncomfortable at all. It wsa a comment of surprise that both had not been bitten and it was one bed that was being shared. However, because we do take the issue of any bugs in our rooms very seriously, we did examine the room to find no bed bugs as well as call out a pest control company and the health department to check and no bed bugs were found. The room was still treated for any insects. We do hope that you would reconsider and stay with us again to see that we do take care of our guests and so that you amy receive the service that would make you very happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 138 in Memphis
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
917 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Inn & Suites Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Inn & Suites Memphis

Property: Vista Inn & Suites Memphis
Address: 265 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-5208
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Inn & Suites Memphis 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista Inn & Suites is a newly renovated property located just right around the corner from Beale Street and just right in front of the Red Bird's Stadium (Baseball). Also the Fed Ex Forum is just located around the corner from us. Elvis Presley Enterprises is only 15 min away driving distance and Sun Studious is only 5 min away walking distance which they give a free shuttle ride to Elvis Presley/Graceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Vista Inn & Suites Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing