We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista Inn & Suites Memphis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vista Inn & Suites Memphis
Ranked #81 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was hesitant to book this motel during our road trip to Memphis from some of the reviews I had read, but I'm so glad we stayed there as it was a good little motel in a great spot. Walking distance to Beale St, the room was clean and had a comfortable bed. It was relatively quiet compared to other motel style accommodation we've stayed in, staff were friendly. Would definitely recommend as a good value stay in Memphis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    159
    136
    62
    72
See reviews for
71
204
45
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
580 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Despite the neighbourhood looking a bit run down this hotel is very well maintained and is safe. Our room appeared to be recently renovated, was always very clean and we slept well. Beale street and FedEx forum are literally 5 minutes walk away and we were not worried about walking back in the dark as you pass a major police station on the way! You know the location is good as the Peabody, Holiday Inn and Hilton are nearby. You can walk to Sun studios in 15 minutes. Great value hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs towards the back of the main building to minimize any traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This downtown motel is the perfect solution to stay in Memphis without spending a fortune. It is the most suitable solution if you are traveling by car, it offers a complimentary parking as a decent breakfast. The double room we stayed was quite clean but tiny, no room for our luggages. The bathroom was recently renewed and very comfortable. Good rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family and I were late booking a room downtown for the first weekend in December (St. Jude Marathon weekend). Rooms book up a year in advance for that weekend. I looked everywhere and everything was booked. I happened upon the Vista Inn and they two rooms open due to a cancellation. I booked them immediately. I was a little nervous because I had never heard of the place. Let me just say that our experience was wonderful! We have already booked our rooms at the Vista Inn for the 2013 marathon weekend.
We have stayed at the Westin downtown, the Peabody and the Holiday Inn downtown. We had a better time here than any of those places! No it isn't as fancy, but it has a small town feel that the others don't have. It was very clean and the rooms were more spacious than the Peabody rooms. We were literally steps from the start/finish lines of the marathon. We could sit comfortably in the lobby of the Vista Inn and see the runners finish.
The doors to the rooms face outside, not a hallway, so street noise could be an issue. If you are like most people and are a part of the street noise it won't be an issue though. Beale St is one street over, so the location is perfect! Great location but without the parking or valet fees (free wifi too)! The rooms have recently been updated and are nice. The outside is pretty plain, but it's what's inside that counts, right?
One major highlight was the young lady who worked at the front desk. Her name was Jessica and she made each guest feel like a VIP. When we arrived she told us she gave us rooms right next to each other because she noticed they were booked under the same last name. She really went above and beyond to take care of us. She even indulged our need for hot tea and hot chocolate by repeatedly supplying us with a thermos of hot water. The place was booked solid and there were a ton of people coming in off the street asking to use the restroom or for other stuff. The staff was patient and polite to each person, guest or not.
We plan to book the Vista Inn for every trip to Memphis. Hopefully Jessica will be there, and if she is I am sure she will remember us, because it is just that kind of place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The downtown Memphis hotels proved to be quite pricy and we chose for this budget option. Its location is its primary draw at is still within walking distance from the action at a reasonable price.

The downside is that the rooms and bathroom is bit worn and there is quite a lot of noise from other rooms. It was also not the cleanest place we stayed - next time we would probably spend a bit more to go for a Doubletree or Holiday Inn but depends on what you want to spend.

Please note that we got a lower rate at the 'door' than was availble through expedia and booking.com.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esploratore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

i organised 11 rooms at this motel as a part of our group tour of the southern states and found it to be comfortable and clean. It was well located to central Memphis and ther was plenty of parking. Breakfast was supplied as part of the package but believe me when i say that Dennys down the road is a much better proposition. Even getting a coffee was a stretch for them let alone trying to get something as easy as a cereal and milk. The place served the purpose and is definitely ok if you just want a stop over for the night.

Room Tip: Get a room on ground floor closer to the back of the premises
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LACYGNE, KS
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in the first week of November-I thought I posted a rating the first day we were there, November 10 but don't see it on here. I said that the location was great, our room was nice and clean and that the staff (Jessica) was wonderful. That evening after spending a wonderful time on Beale Street, my husband slipped and fell while getting out of the shower. He was rushed to Methodist University hospital with four broken ribs and a punctured lung-I was scared to death-never been to Memphis, know nobody there-except for Jessica. I got back to our room at 5am that next morning, called our family and slept until 8am. i went to the office and told Jessica what had happened and that I thought I needed to move closer to the hospital. She jumped into action immediately-she called a sister hotel two blocks from the hospital, got me a reduced price on the room AND transferred the rest of our reservation to that hotel. She also let me stay past check out time in order to get everything re-packed, calls made, etc. We thank her for her help and would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: This place is really cool because you can park right outside your door. It has a frig and microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNNA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exchange Guest Suites
Exchange Guest Suites
#77 of 136 in Memphis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napoleon, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Inn & Suites Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Inn & Suites Memphis

Property: Vista Inn & Suites Memphis
Address: 265 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Inn & Suites Memphis 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista Inn & Suites is a newly renovated property located just right around the corner from Beale Street and just right in front of the Red Bird's Stadium (Baseball). Also the Fed Ex Forum is just located around the corner from us. Elvis Presley Enterprises is only 15 min away driving distance and Sun Studious is only 5 min away walking distance which they give a free shuttle ride to Elvis Presley/Graceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Vista Inn & Suites Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing