We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheaper than other Memphis hotels, but wouldn't pay this sort of money at another location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vista Inn & Suites Memphis
Ranked #69 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Scotland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“cheaper than other Memphis hotels, but wouldn't pay this sort of money at another location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Staff were friendly and helpful, particularly one girl who seem to be always there. She help me with advice on hospitals and faxed some things for me, as my husband was ill after the flight.
The pool was small but it was clean and heated, the only problem was that it had a rope dividing the deep and shallow end so you couldn't swim the pool length wise.
Breakfast was a waste of time.
Room was big and clean. As other reviews mention there seems to be a problem with the water, if you don't get an early shower the water will be cold. It wasn't just me I heard another guest complaining. The AC was fine. Towels weren't great. Room has fridge and microwave, both worked.
We did have a problem with the door sticking and I did report this and they attempted to fix it but they didn't fix it properly.
Parking is included but if there is something on I think the charge for others to park in the car park, but this didn't cause us any issues.
As others have said location is good just a short walk to Beal street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvH0lidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaInnManagement, Manager at Vista Inn & Suites Memphis, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We enjoyed having you stay with us. We hope that if you are ever in our area again you will come and stay with us again! We also hope that your husband is feeling much better now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    165
    140
    62
    72
See reviews for
76
208
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed in the "hostel" part of the motel, which was actually just a motel room with bunks. The mattresses were so thin I had to double up, and the beds were very, very noisy. I didn't feel safe at night here, but it is a good location for Beale Street etc.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Renee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Look, on the plus side this is in a great location and it's inexpensive. That's why we booked it. And we certainly got those things.

But when we got there we also got
- dirty rooms (including several squashed flies on the walls),
- an incredibly rude receptionist and
- a lousy breakfast.

Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattghg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Vista Inn during a visit from the UK. When we booked it, we had not realised that tax was not included in the stated price on the website, so it ended up being somewhat more expensive that we had expected. Perhaps we should have been more clued-up about this (it was mentioned in the small print on the email we received) but it's not something I have experienced before staying in hotels in the US.

That aside, the location was excellent and the rooms were ok. It is functional but not great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnstone512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

The price I paid for a room for 3 nights at the Vista was a great value. The other hotels that are steps away offer more upgrades and a much higher price, but since I wanted to get out and enjoy Memphis I wasn't concerned with a posh room. The first night, I walked to Beale Street. The second night, I went to a baseball game across the street. I easily walked to the Rock N Soul Museum from the hotel and was able to catch a free shuttle that takes you to Graceland and Sun Studios. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming, friendly, and helpful each time I needed something. The room had more than enough amenities for any regular traveler to relax and sleep well. There was a microwave, minifridge, free wifi, free parking, and a great airconditioner in the room. It was quiet and clean. When I come back to Memphis, I'll stay at the Vista and will encourage others to as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanadae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

The motel is located opposite the baseball stadium with a short walk into the city. The reception staff were rude and unhelpful. Wifi did not work, asked staff to fix this numerous times but never helped. The toilet door would lock itself. The TV was in black and white and the hair dryer did not work. The pool is dirty and small. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Ok this is not the poshest of places but its location and price cant be beaten.Our room was fine but some of the others hadnt been cleaned properly(dirty underwear under the bed )and one room had no towels.However it is very central and far enough from Beale st to have no noise but everywhere was walkable and it was very reasonable for the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napoleon, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.3 mi away
Exchange Guest Suites
Exchange Guest Suites
#79 of 136 in Memphis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Inn & Suites Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Inn & Suites Memphis

Property: Vista Inn & Suites Memphis
Address: 265 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Inn & Suites Memphis 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista Inn & Suites is a newly renovated property located just right around the corner from Beale Street and just right in front of the Red Bird's Stadium (Baseball). Also the Fed Ex Forum is just located around the corner from us. Elvis Presley Enterprises is only 15 min away driving distance and Sun Studious is only 5 min away walking distance which they give a free shuttle ride to Elvis Presley/Graceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vista Inn & Suites Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing