We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!”
Review of Beale Street

Beale Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.39*
and up
Beale Street Walking Tour
More Info
$11.00*
and up
Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum Admission
More Info
$10.00*
and up
Downtown Memphis Beale Street Walking Tour
Ranked #9 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Renovation and renewal have come to this historic street known as the "Home of the Blues." Flashy music clubs and restaurants abound.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The night time experience was neat to see, hearing music pour out of the cafes and mix together was a great experience. We felt safe while we wandered up and down..my older Mom was with me.

We also shopped during the day, less exciting for sure, park at the Hampton INN on the corner across form Peabody Place it is only 1$ and hour! You will find lots of tacky souveniers here that are way over priced :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarneySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,438
    1,803
    1,049
    300
    134
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great southern fun”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently spent the day in Memphis and enjoyed our Beale Street experience . I think it would be a great way to spend a night , the bars are restaurants are all open to what looks like a fun street party.
We visited during the day but found the shops interesting and had good food. We were early so stopped at Polly Soul City for coffee and biscuits and gravy. The biscuits were light and fluffy. We walked around , the Rock & Soul Museum is a blk way and the Cotton Museum a couple.The riverfront is a short walk where we enjoyed an informative riverboat tour on the Mississippi River. For lunch we went to Kings Palace and tried some Southern dishes, gumbo which was a thick soup very tasty and a crawfish & shrimp étouffe which was very good. Both were large bowls for $8.99.
Would recommend for anyone visiting Memphis.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Altarose56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cute shops and fantastic FOOD!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

There seems to always be something going on at Beale and you also have the many, many restaurants to choose from and some great little shops to look around in.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveErin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, a trip back in time”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It is most absolutely worth the detour. Go for a stroll, have dinner, check the clubs ... And relive the atmosphere that must have prevailed 50 years ago when Elvis may have walked the same streets.
You are close to Graceland, Sun Studios and historical memory lane. Enjoy the experience!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank laube1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It is crowded but fun if you enjoy music and can drift in and out of the venues. Buy a ticket (band) at the top of the street which covers all the cover charges in each place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Harris14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beale Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing