We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and seemed dangerous”
Review of Beale Street

Beale Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.39*
and up
Beale Street Walking Tour
Ranked #9 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Renovation and renewal have come to this historic street known as the "Home of the Blues." Flashy music clubs and restaurants abound.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Dirty and seemed dangerous”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Perhaps the music is great but the street is dirty and lots of sketchy characters walking the streets. Yes, there is police presence but it didn't make us feel any safer. We didn't stay long before leaving the area.

The next day we were back in Memphis for a Sun Studio tour so thought we'd go down to Beale St again. It was 9:00 am and people were still roaming the street drunk looking for hand outs. When we told the man we didn't have any change, he just kept following us.

A local shop keeper was hosing down the street from the night before's activities. I guess if you're into the party scene you may enjoy it - we did not.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Dutchie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,352
    1,741
    1,014
    290
    131
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Millbrook, Alabama
Level Contributor
215 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good food and music”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Not as long as say NOLA's Bourbon St. or Vegas' Strip, Beale St. does have a lot of food and music to offer. It's not as "exotic" as Bourbon or crowded, but still plenty to see and taste. Note: It does seem to be more family-oriented or PG, if you will.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank publius358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
328 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“I love the atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I love walking down the street and hearing all the music, seeing the signs, and watching the people. There was plenty of police presence and it felt totally safe. It was a slow time of the year, but it still had the atmosphere. I love Memphis!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 44tvmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Down Home blues”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you are looking for some good blues this is the place to go....I liked BB Kings the best for some great blues....

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank saltlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had a great time in memphis. I thought Graceland was a lil overated and expensive, but enjoyed Beale Street and Sun Studios. The Music was great. The bbq, to be honest I could do it better at home, but then Im real picky about bbq. The other southern dishes I had were very good though. LOVED the Beale Street Flippers. Yes its kind of a rough city but common sense goes along ways just like in every city. Im going back for Memphis in May and taking 6 people with me.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BBQJunkie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beale Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing