We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting”

Mud Island River Park
Ranked #12 of 155 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Island containing a 52-acre park that is home to the River Walk and the Mississippi River Museum accessible only by a footbridge.
Walkertown, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Pretty cool place. $4 for round trip tram over or you can walk over top for free. Replica of the Mississippi all the way from start to finish. Lots of information. Kids can play in it but some areas had lots of depris in it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    289
    137
    33
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Whent to mud island via mono rail the museum is very interesting it is set out like a river boat also tells you about some of the boat disasters that have happened on the river really good the garden area and water falls are nice good value for your money

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gillandpeter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyersburg, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been coming to Memphis for years but have never taken the time to visit mud island. We took the tram across and the employees were so cordial to us all. Then as we walked "along the banks" it was so relaxing and informative. Can't wait to go back when there is an event

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walk the entire Mississippi River”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

At Mud Island River Park, we had a guided tour along the entire Mississippi River, walking from state to state, showing the major cities and bridges along the way, and the depths of the water as you travel along, ending at the Gulf of Mexico. Have never seen anything like this, and it was fascinating!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jctap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place for kids to run around”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited Mud Island River park on a rainy day, the museum was average. If you live anywhere near a big river I'm sure you've seen just about everything in the museum. The section on the music of the river was informative. The real attraction at Mud Island, beside getting to ride the big red cars, is getting to walk the last 1,000 miles of the Mighty Mississippi. On a beautiful day I can see this attraction being very crowded. We were lucky that it was overcast & rainy (at one point we had to seek shelter, but we stayed & most other people left). We enjoyed walking down to the mouth & having a great view of the Memphis skyline. Be sure to wear comfortable shoes, or even shoes that you don't mind getting wet or you can easily slip off. You can walk in the river & flood plains for about 5 city blocks. They do have a few snack shops that offer your normal variety of snack food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mud Island River Park also viewed

 

Been to Mud Island River Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing