We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too much to view”
Review of Metal Museum

Metal Museum
Ranked #27 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Metal Museum in Memphis, Tennessee is the only Museum of its kind in the United Sates. The Museum grounds consist of 3 and a half acres of land directly over looking the Mississippi River just south of downtown Memphis. On the grounds you will find a sculpture garden, a fully functioning blacksmith shop and foundry, a library holding our permanent collection, and our main Museum which houses rotating exhibitions of emerging and established metalsmiths worldwide. The Metal Museum is the only institution in the United States devoted exclusively to the advancement of the art and craft of fine metal work. This is achieved through exhibitions, collections, conservation, restoration and consulting services, classes, internship and apprenticeship opportunities, and artist residencies. The value of the Metal Museum extends well beyond its exhibitions and facilities recognizing and promoting the careers of metalsmiths.
San Juan Islands, WA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not too much to view”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Museum is in an old residence. We viewed the display cases on both levels. The work was mostly jewelry and pendants. We strolled out to the workshop but not much was going on. Be sure to look at the entrance gate...that was the most interesting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SanJuanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    78
    36
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Metal Arts?? YES!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Oh, yes! This was exceptional. We loved the outdoor sculpture right on the MIssisippi River and the museum's changing exhibits and fantastic gift shop were a find. Have told many folks to be sure to visit this gem.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Quill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Boring”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The blacksmith shop didn't seem to be open.....There was some cool pieces of art, but overall it was a bit boring. They were changing exhibits when we were there, so maybe we missed some things.

The Memphis iPhone app has a BOGO coupon so we only payed $6 total as a couple to visit. I'm glad we didn't pay more.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindseyJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelersburg, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Live demos and wonderful art pieces”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Wonderful location on a bluff overlooking the Mississippi River and across from a small park. Art pieces were lovely, but not numerous. Live demos let you see how the pieces are made. Easy to get to if you come across I-55 bridge from AR.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohi0Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
828 reviews
316 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Focus on Metal Arts in a Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The National Ornamental Metal Museum is housed in several buildings on a bluff overlooking the Mississippi River and the Memphis/Arkansas Bridge. There are two gallery buildings which had very good exhibits of artfully cast brass bowls, gold jewelry, metal architectural fittings, and metal sculpture. There are also a metal casting workshop and a blacksmith's shop. The grounds between the shops are filled with all sorts of metal sculptures, some excellent and some mediocre. The gift shop is an excellent place to buy jewelry and small metal art castings good prices. If you are an arts and craft fanatic like me, it's a good place to visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metal Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing