We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond In the Rough”
Review of Metal Museum

Metal Museum
Ranked #24 of 153 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Metal Museum in Memphis, Tennessee is the only Museum of its kind in the United Sates. The Museum grounds consist of 3 and a half acres of land directly over looking the Mississippi River just south of downtown Memphis. On the grounds you will find a sculpture garden, a fully functioning blacksmith shop and foundry, a library holding our permanent collection, and our main Museum which houses rotating exhibitions of emerging and established metalsmiths worldwide. The Metal Museum is the only institution in the United States devoted exclusively to the advancement of the art and craft of fine metal work. This is achieved through exhibitions, collections, conservation, restoration and consulting services, classes, internship and apprenticeship opportunities, and artist residencies. The value of the Metal Museum extends well beyond its exhibitions and facilities recognizing and promoting the careers of metalsmiths.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Diamond In the Rough”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

They not only have many works of art, you can have pieces made. We have purchased items from the gift shop for ourselves and friends. This is located off the beaten path. Don't be alarmed by the area. There is plenty of parking, and a city park across the street.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    76
    36
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Beautiful view of the Mississippi! They are adding displays all the time. Some wonderful examples of ornamental work. Makes a nice stop for tourists

Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Memphis Treasure”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

A little hard to find but well worth it year round. Beautiful exhibits and well kept grounds with a nice view of the river. My wife and I don't get there enough.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unique museum and great view overlooking the river”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The subject-matter of this museum is so unique, it's well worth a trip down to see it. Plus, you get a great vista of the river.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank MemTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating museum and great gift shop!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Let's start with the location along the Mississippi River bluffs and bordered on one side by Indian Mounds. Stroll around the gardens and laugh out loud at the whimsical statuary. During our mid-April visit, there were two special exhibits inside the main building -- every bit as delightful as our outdoor preamble. Permanent collection in the adjacent building features an ornate wrought iron teller window from the NY Federal Reserve Bank circa 1924. Admittedly, I love quirky museums and this one is a gem. I would definitely support them as a member if I lived in or around Memphis.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colliesrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metal Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing