We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Laroux By Dejavu

Cafe Laroux By Dejavu
Ranked #122 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chef Gary Williams brings you Cafe Laroux by DeJavu is a Buffet Styled Restaurant serving Breakfast and Lunch. This is an upgrade, but still DeJavu with a twist. Now we are located at 1005 Tillman st. in the United Way building. Cafe Laroux by DeJavu is a Buffet Styled Restaurant serving Breakfast and Lunch. For breakfast, we prepare turkey sausage, shrimp and grits, hash browns and omelets. Lunch will be similar to the DeJaVu menu with "meat-and-three" plates and vegetarian and vegan options.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Finding many great reviews online, our family went out of our way during our vacation in Memphis to visit this wonderful restaurant. Menu had many excellent options, particularly since our family includes vegetarian and non-shellfish fish eaters. Portions were large, prices very reasonable. Chef Gary and others were all that we expected -- friendly, helpful and welcoming. Definitely worth checking it out!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IP3431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    49
    10
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This place is great! Amazing food and service!

Being a tourist, it's a bit intimidating to walk into Deja Vu...it's in a maybe-not-so-nice neighborhood and it looks like a locals-only joint. But once you're in the door, it couldn't be more welcoming. It's a small place, and the service is beyond attentive. They are incredibly helpful and friendly. The Chef (owner?) came out to welcome and to check up on us.

We were there for vegan chow: we had the spinach mushroom quesadilla and the mock chicken salad sandwich. Both were INCREDIBLE! And we got a TON of food. We couldn't pass up the dessert, but we had to take the carrot raisin bread to go because we were stuffed. And the whole meal cost barely over $20.

We'll be back for sure on our next rip to Memphis!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the raves are about!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Ate at Dejavu in Memphis, on July 14 because of a recommendation from a local person we met plus after reading all the rave reviews on Trip Advisor we didn't think we could go wrong! Big mistake. Let me first say we are from the Midwest, and we don't eat a lot of Cajun/ creole food so keep that in mind when reading this if you like this kind of food you might feel like the other reviewers . There were three of us who ate here and we were all three disappointed in our meals plus it cost $48.00 for lunch, and that was drinking only water! My daughter got the Past Primavera and thought it was very bland, she said the only good thing in it was the broccoli, my son's girlfriend had The Big Easy, which I must say, they did make with coconut milk to accommodate her dairy allergy, which was very nice, but she could barely eat any of it and had a Cliff Bar as soon as we got in the car. I had the best meal of the three with Big Keith's Bayou Classic with catfish. There was barely any catfish under the mound of sauce that also had shrimp and crayfish. Although this tasted pretty good there was way too much sauce and not enough catfish to go with it. It would have been better if it had also been served over rice. The decor is a whole other matter. Very sketchy neighborhood, which may be why they are only open for lunch and only until 7:00 on Friday and Saturday. The tables were old bare wood which could not be cleaned off very well, so we felt rather icky about that too. The restaurant is very small, about only 7 tables in all. I must also say that all the people working were very friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A MUST DO IN MEMPHIS !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

After reading great reviews on trip advisor we decided to try. We set our navigation to 936 Florida Street and it took us right to it.. This is a small place but don't let the looks fool you. As soon as we entered the door you could tell the place had a warm feel to it. Our waitress was very helpful and offered lots of suggestions. We started with gumbo. A+. We tried the shrimp creole, oyster poboy, smothered chicken over rice, honey chicken, fried plaintains, smothered okra, yams, fried cabbage and red beans and rice as our sides, cornbread and refreshing ice tea. Everything was delicious. We were all stuffed but overheard a waitress telling about the different desserts....also we heard the owner (chef) telling the man and woman ..after this dessert you are gonna need a cigarette. Well. We decided we better try that and just see what he's talking about. It was the banana foster cheesecake. All I have to say is OMG!! I haven eaten lots of desserts and this was the best I've ever put in my mouth. So good that Guy on Diner's Drive Ins and Dives needs to stop by.. This place is a hidden gem and I highly recommend you check it out. The prices are great and you get a lot for your money. We now have a rule that we are gonna order different the next time we go. They have a huge selection of entrees and everything looks great. Don't waste your lunch at Chili's, Olive Garden..stop by Deja Vu, you will not be disappointed!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmhubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Orleans in Memphis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have traveled to New Orleans more than I care to count and eaten at most of the restaurants in the Big Easy. So when I was introduced to Deja Vu and Chef Gary I knew we had a bit of NOLA in Memphis now. I enjoy the sampler and pretty much everything on the menu. So if you're looking for some authenic creole food head south of downtown and you will be fulfilled. Order as much as you can bear to eat in one sitting and then order what you didn't taste to go so you can get the full flavor of this great eatery.You'll be glad you did.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Laroux By Dejavu also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Laroux By Dejavu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing